The Next Five Months

Thanks to a combination of advice that I have received from some old friends, as well as new ideas that I came up with on my own, I can now accurately predict what will become of my miniature shop in the foreseeable future. For starters, nothing at all will change for the next five months, because I'm busy with a programming boot camp which started three days ago. I should have posted this before the course started, but it completely slipped my mind. I'm taking a short break right now to share a quick update.


The introductory lessons are easy, so far, but I expect, much like my ventures into the hardware side of electronics, that this will become extremely complicated extremely quickly. What that means is that I won't have any time to put toward reorganising the miniature shop, and of course, a certain autumn chore kept me away since the first of October.

Anyway, once that course is over, I will resume work on the catalogue, and the first step will be to change everything around, since I finally wrote up my first set of rules for a tabletop game, and it has nothing to do with WWII! Tentatively, the project is called "Necromancer Wars," and will be played on a hex tile board. I have ten pages of rules (including unit stats), and over twenty different mini figures that I designed using Hero Forge. I've already started working on a virtual version of the tabletop game, and as it so happens, I may have the opportunity to program a computer to play the game, which means I'll be able to test it before printing a single miniature, but I'll cross that bridge when I get there. Until then, I will print and paint some Hero Forge minis and see how they come out:


Of course, I won't stop making tanks, but if recent events have taught me anything, it's that customers would much rather continue to order them through Shapeways (I keep getting orders for IS-2 variants, and I had to double-check that the product pages here were linked to the corresponding product pages on Shapeways - they were). Therefore, I will focus on adding my own designs, and put expanding the historical catalogue on the proverbial back burner once I am able to start rendering vehicles and ships again. How, precisely, I will organise the catalogue to include historical ships and maybe even aeroplanes as well as fictional tanks, ships, aeroplanes, and figurines, I don't know yet. I will also add video content to this site, since I am no longer able to upload high-resolution videos longer than about ten minutes to BitChute. Here is one such example, which my fellow Hivers have seen before in medium resolution (hopefully VideoPress doesn't pixelate it too much):

 

 

 

That's about all for now. By the way, I will not be selling sailing ships any time soon, since they take way too long to process (though, as I get quicker at it, that may change). Files for some of them are available on Wargaming3D (visit "about" v "resources"), just not for the two ships depicted in the video - yet.


Posted from my blog with Exxp : https://kajminiatures.com/2023/01/26/next-five-months/

Sort:  

I have ten pages of rules

😲

Okay, I have a huge affinity for tabletop gaming, and I am beyond intrigued by this project of yours, which with a name like Necromancer Wars, I am assuming that it has armies of undead to command? Can't wait!

But first, coding bootcamp! My brain actually hurts thinking about all that you are up too, good luck and I hope you are ingesting a ton of Omega-3's lol lol!

!PIZZA

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@generikat(7/15) tipped @steampunkkaja (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

what is the most popular model? for customers?

If I sort by "most popular," this is what I see.

On my website:

image.png

On Shapeways:

image.png


Hey @steampunkkaja, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .