You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is Financial Value?

in #economics6 years ago

Actually gold and certain other metals do have intrinsic value based on their use in materials/products/tech...for example gold has special electrical properties and is used in many areas in the electronics & semiconductor industries where it provides superior performance (same goes for platinum)

Sort:  

Yeah I guess that's what I'm trying to say, it has value because we use it and therefore give value to it. It's kindof a semantic point, but my point was just that "intrinsic value" isn't really a thing, although value certainly is.

It has industrial use, sure, which means others have a higher likelyhood of saying, “Yes, that’s valuable to me so I’ll pay X for it.”

To me, it’s still just a proxy for how others will decide financial value in the moment of transaction.