Bluepanda research - S&P 500

in #economics8 years ago (edited)

Hi, I’m bluepanda from Albania. I found about steemit and at first I posted some funny images and things but thought about what might be more interesting and fun for me to do. I have a business administration degree, with a focus on international markets and economics. I’ve been working on Upwork for sometime but steemit seems more fun I get to do what I want, and I might make more and get to talk about what I’m passionate about! Thank you to the creators of steemit it’s really cool to have this.

Today I’d like to talk about one of the largest and important index’s in the American Market. The S&P 500, is the Standard and Poor’s which tracks the 500 largest companies that have common stock on the New York Stock Exchange, and Nasdaq. Standards and Poors is a financial company which maintains the listing of the S&P. The actual index’s underlying components and weighted averages are determined by the Dow Jownes index. It is however different from the Dow Jownes because it is more diverse and uses different weighting methodology. S&P uses free-float weighting. Many consider it the best way to determine the US stock market value, and it has a Market cap of 18.5 trillion, depending on price.

Standards and Poors has an index committee which chooses the included listings. I’d love to be in one of those meetings, wonder if they really choose fairly, we’ll have to trust their analysts and economists though. The included stocks are chosen by a number of factors. They look at market size, liquidity, industry, and other factors. S&P is often used to judge risk/return of the overall market and the stock weighting is relative to market value.
The index covers about 80% of the market capitalization.

The market is currently at all time highs, and investors looking at the price might be wondering if it can sustain itself. The United States is currently in an election cycle so it’s going to be interesting to see who gets elected. Currently it’s looking like Trump Towers but it could blow away like his awful hair piece. The market is a good indication of catastrophic events in the United States, and failure of major business. Of course there was the huge crash when the mortgage bubble burst, and S&P tanked. However, after the bail injected trillions, and we don’t know the actual amount, it has been on a steady rise, with bankers seeing their biggest bonuses in history. I don’t want the American Economy to take a hit, but watching the current activity it looks like extreme hype and greed, and it may not hold.

Well thanks everyone for watching. It’s my first video, and I’m going to do more. It’s great I can share my thoughts all the way from Albania. I’ve done a lot of research but didn’t know what to do with it. By the way I’m hard of hearing and saving up for some better hearing aids so that’s one of my first purchases!! Keep chasing the whales!

Signing off,
bluepanda

Sort:  

Lovely girl! Welcome to steemit. I look forward to hearing your stories. :)

thank you so much for your support ;). Thank you for your compliment, I want to show we can have the women here also talking about interesting topics. more to come!!