You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trendlines over headlines: why the world is doing much better than you probably think

in #economy7 years ago

Not only that, but people retreat from it. With the information overload, people become less engaged, not more engaged. There's just too much to take in. So people become desensitized to it and chalk it up to the background noise, which brings down their overall outlook on the world. In the same way that victims of abuse tune out all but the worst abuses over a long enough period of time, the average person is tuning out most of the bad stuff and just accepting that things are all bad, all the time.

Sort:  

Yeah, good analogy about the victim of abuse. I can relate. <_<
But this isn't about that. Yeah you're right though. I think there are kind of two categories the ones that retreat and tune out, then the ones that are almost too tuned in. I can go either way depending on where i am at emtionally. But when I'm tuned in i get hypervigilint also like abuse /trauma victims. There's no happy medium for me with the news /media.
Bleh, am I making any sense here

You totally are. I understand completely, and I do the same thing myself. Like I have to tune out sometimes because if I don't, I'm going to be consumed by all the negative shit out there.

Totally. Otherwise as an empath, i get way overwhelmed. That's why when i post on a super serious subject (like one of my early posts - "the executioners life") i have to have a completely set aside time mentally to be both rational but edgy and raw at the same time. So, that's why i can not do those posts all the time. Happened to be my most successful post too. But that's why i get kinda annoyed when ppl are like oh, just do more documentary posts. It's not that simple!
Sorry, Rambling ....

Nah! Go ahead and ramble! Part of the beauty of Steemit is that we can build a community, and part of that is talking like this in the comments section.

So, in the eternal words of Led Zeppelin: ramble on!

Unfortunately you are correct, this constant bombardment of bad news has physical effects on our body, the Amygdala is generating cortisol, a stress hormone which has very real negative effects on your body and anxiety...

Yeah, cortisol is a bad one. Can cause weight gain, heart issues, etc!