You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Recognizing leverage in your life... concepts of the 4 hour work week by Tim Ferris

in #economy7 years ago (edited)

Hehe the second bouncing ball was probably money well spent if it made him think...
Don't get me wrong I get just as obsessed by my toys too (too bad they're even more expensive) but lately I have more and more bought second hand previous gen gadgets. Work almost the same for -40% -60% discount.
Need to post about how good / evil the whole marketing game has become. Check out "the minimalists" documentary on Netflix! Will make you think... at one point they said that the marketing budget targeted at kids has gone from 7 Billion a year in the 80's to over 100 billions a year in 2012 ( probably more now)
I am not in any position to give parenting advice, but my guess is that there are a lot of assumptions behind raising kids that should be critically looked at...

Sort:  

The assumptions, for sure. I did so much better with the 1st one when I didnt know what I was "supposta " be doing, than this last one now that I've had so much more help and advice. Been thinking a lot about that the last couple days. As for the documentary, I dumped Netflix a while back when they opted to put all their efforts into their orignal content instead of variety. Its been a while now, maybe they've improved since then.