An unforgettable experience!!

in #ecoswell6 years ago

brady.jpg

Christopher "Brady" Eaves helping us during our planting day

After giving myself some time to adjust to being back in the United States after my placement with Eco-Swell, I think I am finally ready to accurately reflect on my experiences there. I think I needed some time because the differences in the environment from my home-town of Madison, Mississippi and that of Lobitos, Peru, and the micro-community within the Eco-Swell house are so profound.

I come from a conservative community. I don’t say that to mean the reliance on established principles is a good or bad thing, only that the progressive and intellectually based problem-solving atmosphere of Eco-Swell was a refreshing change. Each day was a new challenge for me. Whether it was researching potential grants, how to build a frame for the solar distiller out of bamboo or new potential designs for the dry-toilet irrigation pipe, I felt challenged intellectually. I felt my capacities were respected and my capabilities developed when faced with problems and offered the freedom to explore and implement solutions. This type of bottom-up approach and its ubiquity within Eco-Swell is something I spoke with Michael and Andres about extensively. This type of approach which differs from that of most other NGOs, allowed Eco-Swell to discover the needs of the community without bias, and address those needs as they were able to grow. In that way, growth in the community was organic and progress came where it was most needed.

Brady 2.jpg

The EcoSwell Team, Brady - top row, second from the right

Swell, I will take many lessons from this experience. One, that every day I should strive to learn more about the world around me, and as I inevitably discover issues, try and fix them before they cause problems for everyone. Two, that surrounding myself with knowledgeable and interesting friends and colleagues is perhaps my greatest tool to personal and professional success. The friends that I made at Eco-Swell pushed me intellectually and physically to achieve things I most certainly did not think I was capable of. And finally, that good business means beginning with good intentions and following through every day to consciously improve the lives of others. In living with these principles, I hope to carry the fulfillment gained through my three weeks at Eco-Swell into the rest of my career. Thank you to everyone in Lobitos for an amazing experience, and I look forward to seeing you all again someday.

IMG-20181025-WA0005.jpg

Having fun in Lobitos

@EcoSwell is a for-impact, sustainable development organization based in Lobitos, Peru. Since 2014, we have been working everyday to help coastal communities thrive in unison with nature. If you would like to learn more, please visit our Facebook, website, and follow us on SteemIt!

Sort:  

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and working with @ecoswell in Lobitos. I to live in the town and I must say that @ecoswell does a lot of good work and helps out the community quite a bit. Keep up the good work and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Hi sandflea, thanks for your comment and your support. We love working in Lobitos, it is such an amazing place. Hope you have an awesome day!

Congratulations @ecoswell! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you!! We are looking forward to completing more achievements!