my entry for: ecoTrain Question Of The Week Tie-Up!

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

@ecoTrain's QOTW is:


Name one small change you have made or could make to your life that would be of great benefit to the world if everyone did the same?


One small change I have made, or rather my family has made, has been to swap out common paper products for... CLOTH!

Yep! Cloth everything!

  • paper towels
  • napkins
  • tissues
  • menstrual pads
  • diapers
  • and toilet paper

CLOTH TOILET PAPER!?

Cloth toilet paper.

Did you know, that in America:

About six billion dollars worth of toilet paper every year are consumed in the United States and surpasses any other country across the face of the world. On average, Americans use about 50 lbs annually or 57 squares of toilet tissue every day.

source

That is crazy!

That is a lot of trees!

By choosing to use cloth products, not only do we save loads of money. But its so much healthier for the environment!

If everyone used cloth... Imagine hpw much cleaner the earth would be. How much money families would save!


PicsArt_06-05-09.50.42.jpg

I made a stash of cloth toilet wipes for my family. We have about 40-50 per person, washing every 2 days or so.

They are all 100% cotton. Some are upcycled Tshirts, others free flannel fabric I received.
I cut them into, double sided, 7inx7in squares. I serged the edges, and rounded the corners.
You could make them with a simple sewing machine as well.
A few are odd shapes from scrap fabric or shirt sleeves.

PicsArt_06-05-09.51.35.jpg

Washing? We was on hot, and hang to dry as often as possible.

Storing? Clean wipes are kept in a basket on the back of each toilet.

Soiled wipes? They go into a "wetbag" (waterproof lined decorative hanging bag. A small trash can works too) until washing day.

#1 & #2? Yep. All parties involved prefer cloth over paper for better cleaning! 😉


Thanks for reading!


20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

I personally have wanted to try this. I use cloth diapers already, so I can’t imagine it’d be too bad to add some wipes with it. My husband on the other hand... well I don’t think he’d approve.

Cloth wipes for baby is where we started!

Hubby is the biggest supporter of toilet cloth! He hates hates using tp... He says "it just gets you so much cleaner and doesnt leave lint".

I'm in the same boat as you @hebrewhousewife. I like the concept, but while I got the Husband reluctantly on board with cloth diapers, he flatly negated cloth wipes!

You could just stop buying tp 😂

"Honey, can you throw me a roll of toilet paper?"... Hands him cloth wipes... 'we're out"

lovely answer @corrielaine., thank you for participating.. you have not only saved trees but have also im SURE had so much fun being creative!

<3 Xxx

Thank you!
I do love making things we need, instead of buying them!

Congratulations @corrielaine your post had been selected for an upvote worth ~$1.00 as part of the @ecoTrain minnow support project. Your upvote will come soon!

I hope this encourages you to keep writing amazing posts and making this world a better place!.




JOIN US ON DISCORD
https://discord.gg/XwAmRWW

Thanks @eco-alex and @ecotrain! Such a great support project!