You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Small Change, Big Difference: Single Use Plastic Bottles, Straws, and Other Containers

in #ecotrain6 years ago

It definitely is a worldwide problem and I agree about the tourism industry. It's the same here. We rely heavily on tourism and the excess trash during the summer months is horrendous.
There is hope though. The environmental exhibition that we have on display at the tourist office has encouraged most of the restaurants and bars here to stop using single use plastic and straws. The key to changing is certainly education.
Our local community gets together for regular beach cleans and today we are having an event making art from plastic and I'll be doing a demonstration about my alternative cleaning products. I'm super nervous aaghh.
I'll be doing a post on it later.
Thank you for highlighting this. Great post and I love that you are raising awareness about this. 💖

Sort:  

That's wonderful to hear! Education is definitely crucial. There's just a lot of rebelliousness here! It reminds me of living in the US south. So. Stubborn. I look forward to your post. I trust it went well. I had to do that kind of stuff when I had a cloth diaper service. It's definitely nerve wracking. Have you seen the flip flop art they're doing in Kenya? It's amazing!