You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is there Ever a Time to Give Up?

in #ecotrain5 years ago

People are quick to say what paths should be followed, because that's what was dictated to them and the current paradigm. While I understand them not wanting you to quit school, knowing what I know now, I would have been asking sooner why you were losing interest in school. Three years of feeling duty bound to stay in such a negative environment! As a parent, I would be wanting to know if there was any way of changing to a more positive school at least. For my daughter, she had the choice to come back out and homeschool again, but she does wonder now if she should have stayed in school, because getting into uni is a bit less straight forward without having gone the traditional high school route.

I will always try to go over potential pitfalls and consequences with my daughters, but ultimately the decision is up to them as it's there life. I can't control that path and I know there's no point in trying. I can't even say for certain I know the right thing for them either. Heck, I don't always know if I'm doing the right thing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I couldn't agree more. I wrote a post a little while back about "social norms" and what people "believe" is best for others. This mostly couldn't be further from the truth. Be it around having children, going to college, what is determined as "proper salary," when people are deemed to have been "successful." It's all quite laughable to me. We all walk our own unique and individual paths. No one path is set out for others. They are all unique for what We need in life.

My school was such a negative place - leaving it was the best thing I could have done. Thank you for commenting and for the understanding.