More Capital Destined for the Dump... of course I took what I needed ๐Ÿ˜‰

in #ecotrain โ€ข 6 years ago

Off-Grid Living has been a hard but fun transition so far!

I've been so busy these last few days, it's GREAT! I haven't had much time to spend on Steemit or my faforite Discord groups (I think you all know who you are!), but on top of clearing more brush, making sense of our home, building a shed, seeing family and helping a friend, I did get more junk or Treasure... depends on how you look at it.


20180617_183947.jpg

Don't mind the mig welder, it didn't come out of a junk pile... I wasn't THAT lucky!

This handy little cart came out of my friend's junk pile. He is moving to California and was sorting through a bunch of broken and cumbersome things...

The turning wheels were detatched from it's pin. It had rusted off some years ago and been sitting around waiting for me to weld it back together!!!

20180617_185520.jpgShould have bent that bracket back straight! I'll do it when I'll make the whole thing pretty...

20180617_185556.jpg

All I had to do was flip the axle around, sand off the paint and weld the pin back on. That was an easy fix!

Please don't look too hard at my weld... it's been a while (apart from the day before when I welded up a frame for an airconditioner to fit inside a bus).

She works like a charm now and I think I would like to paint her up for my kid, it'll be fun for the festival we're going to at the end of the month!


The next pieces of treasure also come from this pile destined for the dump. They are various lengths of hemp rope ranging from 10 feet to 20 feet. The beauty about these are their thicknesses. A lot of them are the really thick stuff you'd see on a pirate ship!

20180619_182947.jpg

I'm not sure yet what I'll do with these yet, but it will be an interacting art project for sure! And I even told myself I wasn't collecting anything I didn't have an immediate use for (thanks to @mountainjewel for that re-enforcment for not hoarding non-sense things). I couldn't help myself with that one though, it will be a good project, I promise.


He gave me an almost new post driver (pretty and pink!) and a big working drill press... those items were definitely not destined for the dump and I told him that if he ever comes back to New York they're his. Think of it as these tools being safegarded untill your return, my friend!

20180619_183037.jpg

20180619_183202.jpg


Now, the Cherry on top of the cake:

20171220_080343.jpgPhoto was taken back in november 2017, but those are some of the chickens!

His is leaving behind a dozen chickens and a coop, and yes, they are for the new homestead!!! This is so exciting and scary at the same time!

I don't know what to do with grown chickens! Or not grown for that matter...

I don't know if I'm ready for chickens yet, there is so much work to be done. But I will take them as they need a new home and we want chickens. It's just a much bigger commitment!!!

It's not a big rush, someone is taking care of them but I should pick them up sooner than later...

I feel so rich today, all of that stuff could have cost me so many coins!!! Again, take advantage of Material Capital (the stuff), and Living Capital (the chickens) when you see the oportunity. Keep your eyes open and please tell me what you come up with.

See you next time!


I am a proud passenger of the @EcoTrain, have a look at what other passengers have to say...

Thank You and Untill Next Time...

Steem line 2.png

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH @Eco-Alex, Driver of the #EcoTrain:
"Supporting People who make this world a better place!"
(If you want a quote of yours posted here for a month please contact me)

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.
Up-Vote, Re-Steem and Reply. Your comments are very welcome! Don't forgetโ€ฆ #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort: ย 

Those are all great finds/gifts for the homestead, right on!
That rope would make a few fun things for the kiddos! A climbing cargo net up a few trees just to climb on, or a rope bridge type idea in the trees, or even a rope/tire swing would be cool! :)

These are all great ideas, I especially like the climbing cargo net. Thank you @leemlaframboise.

Ps: our rasberries are starting to ripen!!!

glad u were able to learn from our tip ;) that's been a big one for us!!! so glad y0u're on the land. keeping it simple is where it's at <3

Thank you @mountainjewel we're trying to keep it simple but right now it feel like a big frenzi for infrastructure... Water, electricity, creature comforts and winterizing in mind.

Anyway, yeah thanks for the advice!

Glad you are getting settled! It is always gratifying to see what friends do for friends! Excited for your chicken adventure. Loved being around them when I visited my daughter @mountainjewel. We thoroughly enjoyed "bird" watching! :)

I think it's so cool you are both on steemit... I had noticed in the ecotrain disccord channel!

Thank you for your kind words, it is very gratifying to help others as well. The chickens are being taken care of for the next couple weeks. I won't be able to pick them up until after the 4th of july (we're building compost toilets for a festival in the Adirondacks!!!).

I'm sure we'll enjoy them, as we decided (finally) that we should definitely have them. It is something we want and they just showed up on oir path... got to do it.๐Ÿ˜

Jamie just bought a second hand drill press - apparently he saved us money because they are exy new - he's always saving us money like this grrrr hahah

So what happened to your first hand drill press? ๐Ÿ˜Š

You're traveler, you know all about ways to save here and there. Jamie's doin well, I know those drills get super exy too!!!

Thought of you today... picked up a huge piece of reconstituted stone from outside a kitchen place... had free written on it.. yay. Be awesome in either bathroom where our bench is just ply or in laundry where we have shitty laminate. Yay.

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Thanks for thinking of me... I guess I'm that rubish guy now! I'd get rid of the shitty laminate first... but that's just me. Good find! Is it really heavy?

Haha.. @senorrubbishcoconutguy hahaha...

Oh my god it was so heavy. Trying to movr it with my 70 year old chemo weakened Dad, my 69 year old uncle and Jamie was quite amusing.

Yeah we got rid of all the shitty laminate bar one bit in laundry as wood or ply wouldnt quite cut it in there as we make tea and coffee in there too. So stoked.. its worth at least a grand here! Bloody rich folk... it was probably a centimetre or a colour tone off perfect.

Yeah they'll keep throwing things out. Even in a trade ware which a lot of preppers in the US are getting ready for. I think the ubber rich don't care about prices going up...when it's time to remodel, they remodel!

That must have been a funny sight to see all you carying that heavy thing.

So cool. I've always wanted chickens! ha ha I gotta think your friend gifting them to you has some good advice, I mean he kept them alive this long lol Btw you can always pretty up that weld with a grinder if you are too embarrassed ;) Enjoyable post friend. Keep it going!

Thanknyou so much that is very nice to hear (or to read I guess!).

Yes I can get all the advice on those chickens from my friend, it's true. We are going to pick them up, we finally decided it is a good idea.

It's just a matter of timing now. In two days we go off to a music festival ti build compost toilets and won't be back till after july 4th... so the chickens may be better off where they are for now, where someone has an eye on them

Nice! It's always a great feeling when you make a big lump of progress in one day.

Yes this was definitely one of those very productive days! It feels so good.๐Ÿ˜

glad u were able to learn from our tip ;) that's been a big one for us!!! so glad y0u're on the land. keeping it simple is where it's at <3

loving that cart you done a fine job fixing it and the hemp rope that's great I would definitely have taken that as well, you'll always need to have rope around and hemp at it that is a big score. Good luck with the chickens xxx

Yeah it's true isn't it... rope can be used always somehow!

Thank you so much, I have some learning to do aboit chickens! They came to me a little earlier than I had anticipated.

Congratulations @senorcoconut your post had been selected for an upvote worth ~$1.67 as part of the @ecoTrain minnow support project. Your upvote will come soon!

I hope this encourages you to keep writing amazing posts and making this world a better place!.




JOIN US ON DISCORD
https://discord.gg/XwAmRWW

Thank you @Eco-Alex! Loving it so much... I'll keep showing our progress!