You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is a Matriarchy? Children, Capital, Chaos, Letting Go, Nourishment, Trust, Nature

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Absolute wow. This is totally brilliant, @sagescrub. Thank you so much for this thoughtful, brilliant writing.
First I will say I am grateful for men speaking on matriarchy. This post was so rich and full of juicy stuff. I actually took notes reading through it, so hopefully it doesn't seem to disjointed.
Your reference to the 7 generations is so important. Clearly our current path won't sustain us for the next 7 generations. One thing I would add to it is that I was taught that we have to look 7 generations forward and 7 generations past to honor our ancestors. It just adds another element, and I thought you might appreciate ruminating on that a bit.
In regards to the gift economy, I think being rewarded for pursuing our passions is exactly why the patriarchal banks are fighting blockchain/crypto. They know exactly what is at stake here.
Also, I don't know if you read much about the ancient gift economies, but when they had an abundance of anything, they shared with the other clans, usually during festivals. Then, when another clan experienced abundance, they would share.
I love the idea of mothers embracing all their children. Each of my 4 are so different, and I love them for it.
I'm so delighted you brought in pipe ceremony, and the balance it brings. It reminds me of how much I miss pipe ceremony. I think it's time to make a pipe.
Your words on letting go and birth are truly brilliant. It really brings home the idea that the other is truly an illusion. While my children are surely separate from me, with their own beautiful lives and paths, i could no more see them as the other than I could my own heart. They will always be part of me. The oldest nears 20, but he's still like a piece of my heart walking around outside my body.
My last bit for you is simply a suggestion to check out Rosita Arvigo. I, too, love Susan Weed. She is brilliant and truly committed. I only recommend Ms. Rosita because she studied with the last Mayan shaman of Belize, Don Elejio Panti, who was a wealth of knowledge about rainforest medicine. She has written extensively both about her internship and the actual herbal knowledge. Loads of good stuff.
Thanks again for such a thoughtful and inspiring piece.

Sort:  
Loading...