You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My ecoVillage model

in #ecovillage4 years ago

Who is the Ecovillage for, and for whom not? In this regard I fully agree with you: everyone should be given a chance, but it should be clear what it is: a chance to see if things work out. I think many people could surprise us, and even themselves, in a good or a bad way.

Sort:  

My point exactly!
In terms of the who the Ecovillage is for, I would differentiate between the ecoVillage were building in Portugal, and the model I see as applicable globally.
What we're building will be shaped over time, in terms of the population who will join.
But as far as who(m?), I see permacultre principles equally important here. Value diversity. The most stable and flexible systems, are the more diverse and complex ones. The worse thing that could happen, would be the ecoVillage favoring a certain type of personality or culture.
Obviously there is respect for nature, which is the core principle the Ecovillage emerges from, and therefore something everyone in the village will comply with, but in terms of personal beliefs, hobbies, traits, etc, I think the more diverse the population, the stronger it will be, as we need to get along with radically different people, and we are exposed to multiple opinions, and the more it can develop and avoid stagnation, as the ecovillage will constantly be expanding in many different directions.

I hope that was somewhat clear, I'm on my phone, and in between other things, but I couldn't stop writing..