Dekai Blew My Mind

in #edm6 years ago

10423950_837958879604509_3536894122410640708_n.jpg

Dekai Japanese for huge or large. From this man's frame, you can tell he is neither of these. When we first met at a show I thought he was just another DJ looking to get on stage and show off. I had heard his name before and at the time of our meeting, I needed a DJ to headline the Kandi Family launch party on January 24th. Timing was perfect we hammered out the details and started promoting. Okay, confession time I often don't have the time to listen to DJs until they are on my stage. Dekai was not an exception to this rule.

January 24th had arrived and the show appeared to be a typical event. No real drama, nothing to write home about. Capcophonics & HVLON played some stellar dubstep/hardstyle sets and the crowd went wild. Stoobz followed with a smooth and groovy drum & bass set. By the time Dekai took the stage about half of the crowd had left. After all, it was a Wednesday night and people needed to adult in the morning. I was thinking about the fact I had to drive 30 minutes at 6:30 am for a meeting in Park City and was dreading it. The thought had made me anxious for this show to end.

Here I am leaning against the bar. Shooting the shit with DJDattareya a seasoned DJ from LA. When Dekai starts his first song. Both DJDattareya and I pause and listen in amazement. The hairs on my arms start to raise. The music is hard hitting, melodic and reminiscent of one of my favorite EDM DJs REZZ. It was like nothing I had heard from DJs in Salt Lake City. 80% of the music Dekai plays is produced right here in Salt Lake City. It's original and awe-inspiring with the ability to get you moving and feeling. I stood in amazement for the full hour of Dekai's set. In one hour Dekai had become my new favorite local artist. Dekai a fitting name for a DJ who's music can appear bigger than life. With the talent that can only be contained in that slim frame for so long before it explodes.

If you have not had the opportunity to experience Dekai's music you need to. This Saturday night at The Music Still Lives show is your next chance. Get out and see him on the small stage, before he takes his act to the festivals.

27355869_758102911050903_1538789858968003513_o.jpg