You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Education- It's Meaning Needs To Be Re-framed

in #education6 years ago

I couldn't agree more that there are many downfalls in most of the education systems. However, would it not be most important in understanding the place of a public education system. (Which I think should focus on teaching a person the basics in education and how to learn rather than what to learn. So in a way we do agree.)
I think the key factor, in which you have stated in several ways, would be the responsiblity of the individual to find what they are good at.
I am nearing on 30 and I can tell you that I have learned more applicable things out of school than in and I have never been content with what I want to do with my life.
I feel that a child's success at school does not start at school... It starts at home... I believe that the stronger the family, the stronger the child. And many statistics can prove a strong home to be a successful home. However, some children such as myself we're not so lucky in having a family. All I had was a public education to depend on.
I think our school systems would be much more beneficial if the point of life were implemented into their study's. That fundamental skill would be survival. You mentioned money is required to live but it is not. That is the consumer way of living by far. Rather teach the child the importance of skill in survival. Teach them how to make their own clothes, how to grow crops, how to hunt, how to barter.
Why is it that our children find it easy to explain the process of photosynthesis but have never grown their own food. They can explain the organs of a cow after anatomy physiology, but they have never been to a farm.
I mentioned of you dipicting success in the form of wealth, based in your examples and that is why I hoped you would itterate in what you found success to be. I do look forward to that article.
I find it important to build onto what we have and many of your concerns in the education system seem to be beyond reasonable as far as I can tell. Many concerns in which I share.
Your article came across as though you were stating that certain key learnings are not important if the child sees them as not being so. For that I wrote my comment. If I misinterpreted I do apologize. Thanks for replying back. I'll follow you to keep eyes out for that article of success.

Sort:  

I'm not in favor of hunting and a child living ina slum area it is hard to get a personal room then how is he going to get a place to grow crops and somehow if he manages to get that land then there are many things which can't be grown on land. Also there are climate and seasonal issues. There are a lot of factors which affect these things. Making clothes, he will have to start from making fibre to fabric how is it possible in todays lifestyle. Earlier all these things were reasonable but now times have changed.

And sir there is no need to apologise for anything I'm actually thankful to you for reading and analysing my article. You are elder to me and by giving your viewpoint you are actually helping me in broadening my thought process.