You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Root must Touch Soil to Grow

in #education4 years ago

Bear in mind that post HF 22, you have to leap past a rather large penalty for comment upvotes to be worth anything at all.

Can you explain? I searched a bit but couldn't find a good description of how HF 22 affected comment rewards.

You stand to gain so much more by looking at the bigger picture and somehow tapping into curation, while at the same time keeping this passion you have for interacting.

Is this because I benefit when Hive as a system becomes more valuable? I.e. the whitepaper argument that whales will do what's in the best long-term interest of the network rather than their own short-term self-interest?

Or because comment upvotes don't produce good curation rewards?

Or because self-upvotes on comments will be erased with downvotes?

When I look at the posts I'm supporting through curation trails, they tend to be content I don't care about. In fact, most of the posts I auto-upvote through trails offer little original content or provide something that's already available in a better format elsewhere on the internet. However, the comments and posts I manually upvote provide content that I personally care about and that are of high quality.

So I guess my bigger question is are we pushing users too much towards curation trails?

Sort:  
Loading...