You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Root must Touch Soil to Grow

in #education4 years ago

I'm with you, but what does this have to do with your own comments? You vote every single one of them.

The reasoning here is more tenuous, but the idea is that some of my comments exceed the value of my max upvote, such that in aggregate my self-upvotes should not exceed the total value of my contributions.

But since I've stopped self-upvoting comments, this is no longer important.

To put it selfishly, how does does this allocation of the reward pool (you incentivizing yourself to comment invisible to anyone else) move the needle for me, how does it move the needle for the platform in terms of promoting the creation of more indexable quality blog posts?

Having plentiful high quality commentary on a post increases its value and can end up driving traffic. Reddit, Quora, and StackExchange are great example here where the initial post is often of little value compared to the responses / discussion.

Also I think there's an opportunity for frontends to rank posts by net comment rewards to drive viewers towards content that is getting meaningful engagement.

I agree this is somewhat separate from the self-upvoting discussion, but I'd like to consider ways we can do better at encouraging interaction.