Part III: What's Up With School, Anyway? If There Should Be a School-What That Could Look Like and Imagining a Life of Freedom

in #education8 years ago

It's another great day to be a Steemian 

and investigate new perspectives.


As you may know by now I am passionate about children.  I am thrilled having  first-hand knowledge that the possibilities I share are indeed already in practice.  I am experiencing the awakening of the adults surrounding them and the benefits the children receive from our questioning our own beliefs of what we have come to know.

In Part One 

of this series I shared my own experience with school and how my discomfort in raising my own children in the system shook me into rethinking my relationship with everything--education included.   The foundation was laid for questioning the bigger picture.

Though my personal journey stood me in the purafire. I realized that school as it is mandated in the U.S. does not actually contribute to and enhance the livelihood and well-being of a child.  In fact, it almost always does the exact opposite.   I had to burn out my old ideas and put my intuition into action for the freedom of my children.


In Part Two

I shared some of the things children's aren't' meant to do, as all these contrived realities of perceived importance are not natural for an empowered life.  Children are held accountable, coerced, manipulated and forced to be a part of a mainstream system that actually dumbs them down.  Children either succumb to the pressure and make the best of what is by people pleasing and doing as they're told, or they stand up and buck the system, behave disobediently against the school and their parent's wishes, they get in trouble, and often become filled with anger and frustration from the pressure of being and participating in something that doesn't suit their higher good.   

Today I share Part III:  If there should be a school, how it could be a joyous and rewarding experience.  How it could be expansive and inclusive, a delight and inspiration. and actually meet the needs of all ages of people, not just a forced, segregated institution for low standard curriculum memorization.

If we can imagine the life we want, and the life we want for our children, full of inspiration and passion, we can achieve it.  It will require that the adults actually rethink their beliefs, find peace in the process and hold space for such a reality to be.  Or the children will have to rise up and command for themselves a juicy life of their own design that is progressive and life-giving to match their desired empowered existence, even against all odds.



Just imagine the possibilities.  

Just imagine that we are capable.  

Just imagine a healthy and happy new generation of beings 

living a life of thrival.



Part I

Part II

Part IV to come:  A Life Well Lived


This photography is my own, taken on the land known as @thegardenofeden.  

This is where the magic is happening and a whole new paradigm is being birthed,

Sort:  

Really sucks for kids who are enmeshed and sucked into the whole cattle mentality of school. Lost little zombies of capitalism.

Free the children, I say! Free the children!

The opportunity is knocking. We shall see how empowered people are to really make change. It's pretty intense to go against the grain of everything we have ever known. As you well know @loveon, it's a whole new world when one embraces the perspective of honoring the life of a child.

I am so grateful for your sharing of perspective, thank you!

Grateful you are sharing it with me @kotamdickson.

May the next generation of children know what it is to be empowered and free! May they never be broken! The system isn't working, and it's time for a redesign. Thanks for inspiring new possibilities @everlove!

Once one knows the possibilties, sees it in action, and knows the alternative that is already in play is so detrimental to life itself, there is nothing else to do but stand up for change. Thank you for breaking out of the mold and for becoming the empowered woman you have become. You set a great example.

^^^vote^^^

Sweet! Thanks! And a cute way of sayin' so!

Powerful post of great implications. Hope Steemians support this series as it is of great importance.
The artistic expression/composition is also of course superb~*~

I am grateful to share my passions and also hope there is benefit for others in what I share. I have loved putting together this series as it so true to my heart. Easy to express my love for something so potent.

Is there a way for me to get involved. I absolutely adore children. I want to raise them and teach them and watch them grow and succede at being a human. Yet it feels like all the jobs where I can be a caretaker requires some useless degree, mountains if paperwork, and absurd requirements.

I find that when a degree or certification is required, there are likely other control mechanisms in place as well that will not allow the children their full scope of freedom. Before I had children I hosted summer camp, showing kids how to do all kinds of ordinary things like laundry, cooking, sewing, building things, gardening, art, etc. Parents were thrilled to have a place for their children to go during the long summer months and that they were learning something. Most parent's don't like their kids to be idle! Imagine! So giving them something fun to do--yes it was fun doing ordinary things--kids love to participate in real life when parents have the attitude of enjoyment. Of course there was way more going on than teaching of skills, it was really about empowering children.

I have also hosted art space when my kids were teenagers. A place where kids could just come and immerse themselves in something of their own expression, no grades, no assignments, just tuning in to their own space of meditative peace. Teenagers often want someone just to listen to them and give them hope that there is a better world awaiting them than what they get to see.

Children are our hope for the future. I love that you care and that you want to do something about it. Turning inspiration into a job just never seems to pan out. Hopefully you will find a way to play with them instead. Where do you live @mscleverclocks?

Thank you for posting this, @everlove. It was recommended by @saramiller, and was so good that we decided to feature it in our latest newspaper. Click this link to learn more: https://steemit.com/steemplus/@steemplus/steemplus-friday-october-7-the-daily-newspaper-that-pays-you-to-find-high-quality-content

Yay! I'm so glad I shared it, Sara shared it, and so did you. Thanks for sharing some truly awesome posts. Grateful for another time around!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

How anything can be, is only limited by our beliefs ~ Those beliefs that we have taken on from others, believing that they are our own. When the 'shake-down' comes and we really examine what our own beliefs are EVERYONE will benefit.

Particularly loved the last image. When a child has spent a day of their own choosing ~ They will be naturally tired and have THE best sleep and wake feeling refreshed and rearing to move into a NEW day once again.

Agreed!!! I have had the wonder to what extent I have actually had an original thought! It's crazy all the things we believe without ever having questioned. It goes DEEP. I'm still questioning and finding I live by a lot of assumptions. Without these indoctrinated beliefs, a whole new world is possible. Thanks for your input and for also questioning. Blessings on the way!

So true ~ Our belief systems come from so many sources other that our true Selves. And our journey here is to uncover who we, in truth actually are without all the 'veils.' I feel many of us are on this journey together now. No longer satisfied with what we have been led by the nose to believe.

Sorry for the delayed reply ~ Been away for a week ~ One of the most beautiful beaches ~ White squeaky sand, turquoise waves and rockpools, rainforests, mountains and lakes ~ Wonderful way to let a lot of the impinging thoughts drift by and away ~ And be more present to each moment in nature. Times like these allow us the freedom to be more of who we really are.

I loved your reply. Well worth the wait! Feel a kindred spirit in you. So grateful we are on this journey together. Thanks for your presence here @allyinspirit.

I haven't seen it, but think I might!!!! Thanks for the comment. I appreciate you.