Digital footprint

in #education6 years ago (edited)

When was the last time you tried searching for your name on google?
If it was yesterday, even then you might want to do it again today. It is a good way to find out what the internet knows about you!

Img Source: https://www.flickr.com/photos/143601516@N03/28011015990

What is a digital footprint?

"A digital footprint is a trail of data you create while using the Internet. It includes the websites you visit, emails you send, and information you submit to online services. A "passive digital footprint" is a data trail you unintentionally leave online."

Source: https://techterms.com/definition/digital_footprint

Watching your digital footprint is a serious matter as this is what could describe you in the future to come, one needs to take ownership of everything they post online or search for on the internet!

Now I get asked this question a lot: "Can i not just erase my digital footprint?"

Here is the full truth: "You may never be able to completely erase your digital footprint, since so much is already out there about pretty much everyone".

The good news is that, you can actually reduce you digital footprint by using your privacy settings effectively as in not sharing personal information or only sharing information with people you know, do not post the wrong photos and videos and try to keep your private and work life seperate on different accounts.

(Read further from the link below in how to reduce your digital footprint!)

Source: https://clark.com/technology/how-to-reduce-or-delete-your-digital-footprint/

Img source: https://www.flickr.com/photos/alancleaver/4105726930

The fact of the matter is whatever you put out there will remain out there no matter what you do, so jut BE CAREFUL!!

Do what I always do.... Ask yourself before posting something: "Would I should this to my grandmother or not?".

unknown.png

Sort:  

Yup, the internet and social media is waiting to nip us right in the butt if we are not careful about what we post and how we post it! I cringe when friends and family tag me in something inappropriate!

I completely agree with you! Thanks for the feedback @sweetpea

I see that since joining Steemit my digital footprint has expanded tremendously!

Also... there was another "Zak Ludick" that was part of some reality dating show or something. "The most eligable bachelour's date" Blah Blah.

Well I am now taking over on both google search and google images!

It's easy to see which one is me...

Zaks Google Images.jpg

Are you happy with how your digital footprint has expanded @zakludick ? Or is there something you would have done differently when creating your digital footprint?

I am quite happy actually. It just encourages me to do more!

Hi, great post.

I think we need to be conscious to keep the most private things back but also do not panik. I guess the lack of a digital-footprint might be harmful in the future, too. For example I am very grateful that the charity I joined during my studies and my phd-mentor were very keen on having a nice internet presence.

There is always the positive and negative side of things I'm just trying to make people aware of that when it comes to what they do on the internet... Thank you for your feedback!

You are numbered from birth, everyone knows everything, being social online has positives and negatives. When you go to a bank your photo is taken, finger prints, ID number every time you arrive to adjust anything at a bank, not private at all.

Blogging using your own name, being authentic was the approach 2008, now you must duck and dive, too late/too late they cried what has been done is done.

To be truly private would mean never being registered at birth, live in the bush, not own property, no digital connection in IP address or phone.

Ha ha stop, @ihal0001 you make my head explode just from the idea.

It is so overwhelming!!

shared this on twitter for all, thank you for writing about it

Thank you @sayee, we really need to make people aware.

Yes, this topic is huge in my classroom. I always remind my students about their social media accounts. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for the feedback!!