You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unexpected Encounter with The Blue Whale Game

in #education7 years ago

Living close to Russia, where the game originated, I'm already familiar with this problem and in our country we've had kids involved in it.
The problem you raise about educating kids is quite interesting. You're right to say children will be curious and would want to do something forbidden. In my opinion, this game got too much publicity, it was all over the news from what I hear. I no longer watch the news and one of the reasons for that is that I didn't want my kids exposed to news about rapes, suicides and similar horrible stuff. And when something disturbing does appear in a conversation I try to talk to them, try to make sure they understand why something is wrong or stupid.
As for this particularly sick game, I believe it will die down. If I remember correctly the game's creator has been arrested some time ago.

Sort:  

Thank you for you another nice comment @ladyrebecca. The game's creator has indeed been arrested with 6 court cases against him.
Not watching the news anymore is something everybody should do, I stopped doing that 20 years ago. FB is not much better i must say, i think i muted more than 50% of my friends and still got all this negativity in my feed. Needless to say, glad I found Steemit :-) I was in a way doubtful to write a post about it as any article is in a way publicity but i was just totally shocked by it, phew. Much love.