You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are you a formula person or an idea person? Idea economy professionals.

in #education7 years ago

I can follow formulas well enough, but because I always have this ADD-like personality, I usually find myself wondering away into bigger dreams, therefore I usually end up having to create my own formulas.

Sort:  

I think if you can harness your ADD and build systems around it that make use of your strong points instead of forcing yourself to do routine stuff you can do well.
I think the whole concept of ADHD ADD is blown out of proportion, first of all, kids in school who aren't fascinated with the curriculum and fidget a bit (go figure they are kids) are quickly labelled as "difficult" and are almost forced to take methamphetamines (that is basically what ADHD medication is). Sounds pretty ironic to me given the whole war on drugs thing...

Second, there is definitely a attention problem that is starting to grow with everybody, not in a small part due to abuse of technology. I think this is going to be the next big health crisis, on par with tobacco.

Young children's brains who are abusing technology (or rather whose parents are technology to keep them quiet), literally have different brain development.
Adults, more and more have difficulty focussing on tasks, and are routinely distracted at a very high cognitive cost.

Day dreaming etc I think is not a problem, the big problem is if you only daydream and never take steps to realize any of your dreams...

You are right. My personal take on ADD is that it's not exactly a bad thing. I believe it is an actual asset that if nurtured and tutored correctly, can lead to create another Einstein type.