Sort:  

Great article @michaelmcawesome! I’m fairly certain it’s the longest one I’ve ever read and worth every wOrd.

I’m surprised this article hasn’t made it to @curie yet or @c-squared yet. I’ll see if I can help you out with a Resteem, good luck!

Thanks so much @dandays! Gatto's book "Underground History" is also an exceptional read. There's a lot more to this than just the article. Thank you for the Resteem and the exposure!

Excellent write. Highly Resteemed.

The only issue in the US is if you dont show some form of schooling they will take your child. That seems logically benevolent.

Ill have to find this school in England and the Man who started it for you. He started a boarding school which was basically unschooling. All the children and staff had a voting system on everything but the schools finances.

Thanks for sharing.

Hey buddy, thank you for the compliment and the Resteem. Are you sure you need to show some form of schooling? I know Dayna Martin and others unschool and make it a point NOT to school their kid. Maybe they've found a way around that.

Isn't that ridiculous BTW? That other strangers can take away your kid if you're not raising them according to how they want? In Gatto's book he talked about how that idea came from the Puritan idea that children were "on loan" from God. I hope more people can really think deeply about that and understand just how crazy the ramifications are there.

Thank you for the Wiki posts, I will look more into that!

You can censor me on wechat and pretend that I don't exist but not on here kiddo. When you run your own unschool ( as I am doing ) or ANY alternative school of your own then you'll have the worth-a-damn factor enough to at least say you did something instead of just sit around all day writing and talking about it. Isn't that what traditional school teachers do? Talk all day about theory but have next to zero actual experience in the real world? You can get people here to believe you know what you're talking about because we had enough long and deep debates about it during your training at my unschool but I've known you for years face to face and I know you're too much of a coward to look me in the eye and tell me you have the balls to open your own school, much less to teach. Hell if you have the balls to teach then I'll let you out of your NDA / Non-compete! You talk a mad game on the internet son but show us what you can do with teaching real kids! Stop repeating stuff you heard from other people and write ONE honest sentence!

Your unschool has teachers?

Very insightful post! Yes, I've read Gatto's "Underground History" book. It's probably one of the best books I've ever read in terms of substance, and also one of the most enjoyable, in terms of format and readability.

Keep up the great work! Cheers

Thanks buddy, will do and same to you!

Well done, great article thanks for producing and sharing this with us. I'm dealing with a couple teenagers that are being indoctrinated in the public school system now. And am having trouble getting them to understand why they need to consider other options, they mother's entire side of the family are all professional educators and believe in the system so are strongly resisting any other options for my kids.

I do not think I can win this battle, but with the future lives of my children at stake I must try. Your article may assist in that endeavor, I appreciate your taking the time to compile this information for us all. Thank you!

Wow...amazing praise. First, I want to say I'm so sorry you're going through that at the moment and I wish you the absolute best and successful conclusion to that disagreement. As you said, your children's future is at stake so please keep going.

You are welcome for this article. Knowing it is having such an effect helps me write more. All the BEST to you!

This is a long but certainly well researched write on Education. So much to learn from this.

I am going feature this post in the next Xposed Curator's Rebound #58. You may find details about it Xposed Curator's Rebound

My hope is to bring your quality work here the exposure it deserves, and with it, hopefully some additional rewards.

Best wishes, @mirrors

Nice! Thank you very much, I will be sure to look into this later on today.

The Best to you!

yes well researched but he plagiarizes much of his content "original thought" from internal training systems that I created for my private school in China, ( which I built from nothing ) which I employed him to work in as an English teacher. I trusted him and now I'm very disappointed to see that he disappeared from wechat and still owes me money! Michael speaks as if he's an authority on the subject of alternative schooling but he is regurgitating much of the content of our training system... What a shame... I don't like to call people out publicly but I feel like I've created a monster... I hope he can take his bullshit and his satanic conspiracy theories back to his cave of ignorance and leave the Chinese education system to people that actually earned their stripes.

Congratulations @michaelmcawesome! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!