Fractals for Kids! Educational or time wasted?

in #education7 years ago (edited)

Is creating fractals as hard as mastering quantum-science? Should an aspiring fractal artist have a PhD in Mathematics before messing with the intricate interface of a fractal application?

Fear not! As I will showcase below, even kids can come up with impressive designs that many so-called “artists” would be jealous of.


Can I try, dad?

So, as you might know by now, I am currently obsessed with fractals. My typical evening is spent with tweaking the numbers & variables & variations & palettes & details of various fractals. Just the other day, my 9-year-old daughter was observing me doing what might seem like witchcraft to her eyes, but she showed no fear and approached asking me to allow her do some “photos” herself.

I shooed her, trying to explain that she can’t grasp yet the notions of iterations, feedbacks, transitions, camera angles, etc. She only stayed away for some hours though, and the next day, she was again beside me watching my fractal experiments. Finally, she asked again, and I thought what the heck, let her try some!

In JWildFire, each pixel of the original image goes through a series of variations, again and again, in many iterations until the final output is created. Each variation can be coarsely controlled by transforming the corresponding triangle, as can be seen in the screenshots; for fine adjustments you have to dig deeper, though.


Each triangle controls one of the four variations

So, for a 9-year-old kid it is easy to just move the triangle around, rotate and scale it. I showed her how to create new variations or change the existing ones, and how to assign base colors to them. That was enough, she started playing with the fractals and here are some of her creations. Soon, her brother (aged 7) joined her and had a go too! I insisted on naming each fractal themselves, in fact I made it sound like it was a requirement, so I could see how their imagination was working...

Her fractals

Solar Space

The Green Rain Flowers

Moon

His fractals

P.A.O.K (a local football team)

Flower of Lothal (from Star Wars: Rebels)

Fractally Education

I generally don’t discourage my children from anything related to computers, if they show interest in something I try to let them experience it. They play with shapes in Word and write small paragraphs. They play Hearthstone (in solo mode) and create their own custom cards. Of course, I still subtly monitor what they do, I do not let them totally alone at the PC (guess it is time to get some Parental Control software, right?).

I was impressed with what they accomplished with JWildFire, just after a few minutes of playing with the controls. Also, it was impressive to see how quickly they learned their way in the application, changing the tabs and lists to find what they wanted and remembering the combinations that worked in their previous tries.

With fractals, the advantage for kids is two-fold in my opinion:

  • They can let their creativity run wild, there are no limits to what they can design, and even create things on-the-spot without previously thinking about and designing them. Fractals are so dynamic, you open new doors with each small change you apply.
  • They get an indirect exposure to mathematics, in a fun way.

After they have some hands-on experience with fractals, it might be easier to explain to them some concepts like iterations, formulas, planar coordinates, etc. This seems important, as there is a constant belief that kids hate maths because it is difficult to understand; the way I see it, they hate maths because they can’t apply most of them in their lives. So, when they have enjoyed creating images with fractals, it should be easier to realize what the underlying numbers mean.

Same goes with many other things aside fractals, as for example with a card-game like Hearthstone: they can make simple strategies and sharpen their calculation skills, while having fun. And, of course, Robotics is a proven educational tool.

In the end, I am happy to see them bother with something that is NOT FACEBOOK!

Thanks for reading, comments and your own personal experiences are welcome below.

Sort:  

What are other fractal generating programs that you like to work with?

Mandelbulb3d is the second fractal app I've install recently, but I have not spent much time with it yet. Back in the days (some 15+ years ago) I used Fractint a lot.

Cool! Kids are really techny now. :)

Yes they are! There is a trend these days with Robotics, many classes offered for kids aged 6+ which is great in my opinion. We can use computers to sharpen their wits, not just for FIFA games and facebook!

That's really interesting. Makes me want to try that too... is it suited for "older kids" too? 😉

Hehe, certainly! I set aside my lego for fractals! ;-)

There are many open-source free apps for exploring fractals just try one and see for yourself. JwildFire is java-based so it will run on any pc.

Can I have your lego then?

No way, they are still mine!

Wanted to try jwildfire for some time myself, is it demanding on H/W as currently I have quite old PC.
If it works I can let my son create some :)
Nice reading.
Cheers

One of the PC I run JWildFire on is a Core2Duo @ 2.9GHz with 4GB RAM -- and it runs decently. I am sure it runs ok in even lower specs. Go on with installing it, and report back here afterwards. Thanks for your comment!

I'll have to do some more research, but it seems like it should work with GPU rendering as well, even multiple. Might be fun running it on some older mining rig.
This extension should allow it, but I haven't tested it, yet.
It should reduce rendering times significantly, if you manage to make it work :)

https://bitbucket.org/sbrodhead/faengine

Just saw that there was a kickstarter project to add GPU-rendering to JWildFire as well, but it did not reach its goal.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations @nyarlathotep! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!