Sort:  

No no, I'm sorry, I meant that in order to enter university it is not necessary to have preliminary skills on certain studies, nor to have obtained a certain score or credit. In Italy university taxes are paid on the basis of family income but I wouldn't say that they are very expensive. In any case, I know of some totally free universities in Europe, such as Sweden, where you don't pay taxes if you are a citizen of the European Union. I am sorry for the difficult situation, I think the problem of education should be tackled more seriously by our governments...

I think governments are interested in votes, and that education is definitely a political issue. No one is interested in innovation and shake ups and there are many in education happy to go along with status quo, unfortunately. I think that Italian universities not requiring a score or credit are on the right path - and paying on basis of family income is an amazing idea!!! I didn't know that. That would really break some cycles!

I agree with you. I hope that one day there will be better conditions and equal opportunities for everyone...