Why I quit teaching part 1

in #education6 years ago

i_quit_teaching_rect-460x307.jpg

I come from a multi generational line of teachers . My Great, Great Aunt taught in a one room school house, my great aunt was a History teacher, grandfather was a high school principal, and my aunt was ah High school basketball and tack coach. When I told them twenty years ago that I was going to be a teacher they all begged me not to. They said, "go do something that will make you some money. "

I absolutely loved teaching! I loved the interaction with the kids, I loved creating unique challenge lessons that made kids think. I did some big projects, I got kids into using mobile devices in the classroom at a time when schools were banning the3m. It won me my fifteen minutes of fame.

I published lessons, did radio interviews, and had magazines, and universities calling and writing about what I was doing. It all came to a sudden end, with no explanation given. I recovered and moved on. I soon moved on to I was a two time Teach of the Year in two different school districts, one in Elementary and one at the Intermediate level. After doing this is got in to building Outdoor Learning Centers. I applied and won a grant that allowed me to relandscap the front of an old school and convert it to all Native Plants installed a dry river bed along with outdoor seating for a classroom. With this also came more press, I was written up yet again in a University publication, and was nominated for being an Eco Educator of the Year.

All that to say, I feel like I have a very robust body of work. I worked hard and went above and beyond. I gave it all I had. Too bad that educational system didn't know what to do with me. I was too wild, too independent for them.

My last year was the worst year I had ever had. I was at a school that hired a first year principal, first year vice principal, and a first year counselor who were also all friends prior to taking their new jobs. I was rolling in off my 18th year in education with a few "skins on the wall." They refused to listen to me in anyway or see the value I brought to the school. I spoke up, and went against the grain. Unfortunately they were too small minded

small mind.jpg

and too offended by me to be able to help me do my job. I resigned before the year was out and finished up my contract. Leaving me with a bitter taste in my life.

I felt like it was in my DNA to teach, it was who I was. Going on two job interviews, two yes I want to hire you, and then both feel through at the last second. I became convinced The Father was pushing me out.

I ended up finding a job that is very difficult but has a potential to pay more, but I am working three times the hours now.

Lessons
I learned that school system teachers group think. Everyone be the same, look the same, wear the same clothes, like the same music, listen to the media, listen to the government...

I was in a fog and couldn't think clearly because of the environment I was in. My judgment was clouded.

I learned that many of the things I had to teach were lies, such as Evolution, the History of The US. All of it is propaganda. Stories taught to reinforce patriotism. All the while ignore the fact that our system is built on Esoteric societies, ancient religions , and worshiping mammon.

I can now see that by staying there in the classroom I was just re-enforcing the same lies over and over. The father has set me free from that.

So here I am outside the classroom missing time off, time with my family, and summers. We will see where this leads.

.

Sort:  

Congratulations @sabbathlounge! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sabbathlounge! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!