You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freedom of Education: An old myth or a not to be wasted opportunity

Like artemislives, I'm also appreciating that sentence. Glad you could join us for the this debate.

Lol, 1984! I recently discovered that he began writing it in 1948 and he chose that year by reversing those last two digits.

Sort:  

Pleasure to join in. Always fun for me to join in on a topic which is of interest, but I wasn't familiar with that it is being discussed on Hive.

Yeah, the 1948-1984 thing is awesome. Kinda forgot about that, thanks for bringing it up. It does make you wonder if times were really that different. One of my favorite writings on society is Guy Debord's work for Situationist International. Aside from technological changes, the social/mental/psychological aspects still play a (maybe even bigger) role till this day.

There are so may books I should probably find time to read. I haven't even read 1984!

I think I read 1984 (or the summary 😅) 20 years ago.
Might have to re-read it as well 😂

I'm thinking maybe audio books are the way to go, so I can listen while I'm doing the household chores. Hive had taken over my reading time! 😅

Haha... yeah. The only knock on audio books for me is that I won't process it as well as actually reading the book.