The Odyssey of a Victor - Eke van Victor

in #ekevanvictor6 years ago


Few months ago, I made a decision to start reading books. Prior to that I was a hardened HATER of books. In fact I hated the sight of them. But as a writer I knew something was missing. I was always short of opinions on issues and creative ideas too, I was always playing the 'silence card' when arguments came up-You know it's really frustrating to be in that position where you can't contribute in an argument right?-. I knew it was a deficiency but didn't know the cause or solution until Aluya Onos and I decided to try reading. ‎
I contacted Akomolafe Olumaxi to give me recommendations. Thankfully he didn't only km give recommendations, he sent some wonderful ebooks too. One was Trevor Noah's 'Born A Crime' which is perhaps the best book I have ever read. Since then, my love and desire for books has been profound and insatiable. I've taken out my holiday to try out several books from memoirs to fictions to autobiographies to history, and more importantly I've been able to come up with my own memoir "The Odyssey of a Victor" which now has an excerpt free for download on Okadabooks.‎
Compared to last year and the year before, this year has been quite uneventful for me but I'm unmoved by it because everything that has happened this year has been an avenue for self-development. "The Odyssey of a Victor" is just a fraction of my story and most of the people who have seen it have reviewed it with emotional or 'teary eyed' remarks. I didn't wish for anyone to be 'teary eyed' after reading that story. In fact, I've not shown any of my family members-except my baby sister-up till now for that reason. "The Odyssey of a Victor" is a story of hope; one that reassures us that even though we can't keep the sun from fading, dawn will always come. And like my cover art designer said, "There's light at the end of the tunnel".‎
I hope you'd find out time to read my memoir this weekend and I pray you find strength to keep fighting and conquering in Life's battles after reading.
Keep Reading. Stay Woke


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.ekevanvictor.tk/2018/10/the-odyssey-of-a-victor-eke-van-victor