You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Election is far from over

in #election3 years ago

Good question. I have reversed the downvote which was not for his views but, as I explained to him, for the rhetorical tactics of cherry-picking comments from random people as if they represented a general view. I also have problems with claiming that there is voter fraud (as opposed to alleged) where thus far, even Republican judges have disagreed in all settled cases. I also disagree with not recognizing the blatant voter suppression that manipulating the USPS caused and which changing the rules in Pennsylvania AFTER THE FACT causes. Further, screaming that Biden and his mates in the MSM, despite the fact that the AP call has always been the gold standard in the past is inappropriate when Trump was do EXACTLY the same thing for himself MUCH earlier (i.e. early in the morning after the election).

I believe that people have a right to their political beliefs. I believe that those beliefs should be respected. I do not believe that they have a right to make a mockery of democracy via rhetorical games much less deliberate machinations to overturn the legitimate results of democracy. In particular, I have specifically asked @apshamilton whether he believes that the voter fraud made a difference in the result in Pennsylvania. He declined to respond. I asked him if he believed that it was really even a possibility that voter fraud made a difference in any three states that would flip the election. He declined to respond. I can only assume that he believes that it wouldn't have made enough of a difference to flip the election. Making the statements that he has made while holding those beliefs is disgusting and sickening in their total lack of integrity.

I did not down-vote him for his views. I down-voted him for rhetorics. I reversed the downvote despite this simply because of perceptions and I don't want to hamper political debate. I've seriously considered reinstating it after our conversations where his lack of integrity became clear -- but decided that it would only give irrational haters more ammunition.

It's also worth noting that my policy of down-voting rhetorical games and lack of integrity is not new -- though this is the first time it's been on an overtly political post that isn't blatantly based on bad SCIENCE and STATISTICS (though, of course, the claims of voter fraud mattering ARE statistical).