You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Electroneum - cellphone "mining"

in #electroneum6 years ago

It is a very interesting concept. I still don't know how I would feel doing CPU or GPU mining on this if they are basically just giving it away to get adoption. Yet if they do get mass adoption it should drive the price up. They also seem to wan to peg it to cheap phone plans in developing countries which would keep the price low minus any speculation around the coin. I will keep my eye on this one. Thanks for posting.

Sort:  

You're welcome, thanks for the comment!

Yes, mass adoption together with many payment possibilities - I mean the possibilities to pay in common (online) shop with ETN - this would drive the price up. But mass adoption in terms that everybody is "mining" via phone wouldn't drive the price up...

They also seem to want to peg it to cheap phone plans in developing countries? How did you mean that?

One of the use cases is paying for cell phone bills with the currency. I think that this will artificially set the price relative the the cost of the phone bill so that people would be able to pay down there bill in a set number of ETN. I guess we will see if they quickly release other vendors to spend with.

So is it possible to pay for cell phone bills with ETN or not yet?