Sort:  

these are posts that deserve it because these are posts that really hold something @curie, @ocd @Ocd-resteem @Sneakyninja @thealliance

Cheers man, it’s always nice when a passion project is picked up on.

wow.

Heavy Post! Thanks for taking the time.

Lol, it's gonna take quite a while to go through the whole post.

Btw, you left out Tom Dissevelt and Kid Baltan to jump directly to Delia. They ware active a decade before Delia.

Heh, yes, it was more of a nod of recognition that everything didn’t just start with Kraftwerk! But fingers crossed it spins off a few thoughts.

I may go back in time and deep dive on some individual elements here in the future...

Oh and mentioning master Stockhausen would've been nice also. Still going through the post lol.

Omg and not a single mention of Jeff Mills, Drexciya or Underground Resistance!! Not cool bro, not cool!

Too historical for what I wanted to cover. The founding principles of that scene have been covered to death and in much better detail than I can skip over. That’s mainly why I left Synth Brittania and Pump Up The Volume there. Kind of a “hey, here is a couple of history lessons to check at your leisure” while focusing on joining the dots of what happened over the course of the 90s and 00s regarding the mad drive to stick a label on everything.

I think the jist was to show that, up until now, everything has been pathfinding, but we are now at a place where we can learn from what came before. And not just one immediate facet, the entire history.

This is a fantastic document!
Really like it!!
Inspiring..

Wow! So much to take in here. I am definitely bookmarking this for future listening sessions but I am so impressed with this - obviously a labor of love! This is an area of music history that I know little about, and am looking forward to exploring the resources here in more depth.

I found you through @sneakyninja's Daily Sneak curation post - very happy I did, following you and looking forward to more awesome posting!

Much love - Carl

Thanks Carl! This was the succinct modern history too! I could have gone on about any facet for a long long time. Maybe I'll revisit elements of it in future for deeper dives through the history. I've got lots I want to talk about though - this part of the year is always intense for hardware launches, so I'll be a bit techy, plus spotlights on labels, playlists, and whatever I have posted over at Inverted Audio. A mixed bag!

What an amazing research and write up im gonna take time to soak it all in! Respect

Thank you!

Luckily, research has mainly been thanks to listening to noises for 25 years consistently, so it was all there in my mind!

Respect mah man! Love the quality u bringing and do more. Hope u enjoyed the little support u got keep that great content coming, Kudos! ;)

Hello, your post was nominated for an upvote by a fellow within the Sndbox incubator. Thanks for sharing your fun and creative breakdown of electronic music @fourfourfun! Steem on :D

Hey @sndbox! Thank you for the support, I always appreciate a bit of incubation on official most depressing day of the year "Blue Monday".

Mind-blowing history!

Thanks to @djlethalskillz, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Wow. This is an in-depth post. Gives me about a weeks worth of content to work through. It should be fun walking through some old tracks and mixes I haven't heard in years.

This whole thing hits on something that fundamentally bothers me about the whole EDM scene which is a complete lack of any concept of the history of electronic music. I can distinctly remember a Facebook post from Skrillex a few years back where he posted his favorite track of all time (Aphex Twin's Film) and the comment section was lined with "where's the drop?" and I was really taken aback by the amount of people who didn't know anything about his legacy. I was also recently an observer in a conversation where the term rave was being used to describe EDC and I knew if I tried to make an attempt to correct his use of the term I would be described as some old elitest shitting on the younger community.

I don't really know where I'm going with this, but I'm glad to see posts like this geared towards some education of how dance has evolved. There isn't much in here that is new to me, but I hope at least one EDM fan sees this and uses it as an opportunity to learn a little bit more about the culture​ and how it evolved. Once again, great post.

Oh yeah, I remember when the Flim thing happened!

I think the post was a need to exorcise what I’ve seen happen over the years. I’ve watched genres get killed off and creativity stifled as labels were stuck on things and rules put up. I’m just loving that, right now, anything goes.

More of a cautionary tale to not put yourself in a corner.

But yeah, hopefully the documentaries are fun later viewing and the mixes are interesting listening. It’s nowhere near exhaustive but there is only so much space!

Honestly, I think about that Film situation a lot. I've always been a bit younger in the Techno scene (well, not anymore as I'm in my 30s) but I still had a good sense of history about the music that I loved. I think a lot of it came from record digging in shops in my teens where I tried to buy as much used as I could used since it was cheaper and not coming of age in a time where everything new was accessible online. I grew up in the country where I had to learn about the culture through import magazines and books which gave me a sense of where the culture originated in. That whole Skrillex/Film thing really made me take a step back and see what direction the new scene was heading in and how disregarded the history of electronic music was. It was eye-opening. But you can't bring that up without sounding elitist and condescending to many of these kids. I personally don't even mind some EDM, I just want younger audiences to respect the people who developed the culture when attitudes weren't so open to this music.

nice but toooo long post but still dope i recommend to watch the second video for nice history lesson about music

I thought about chunking it up into chapters but instead I just made it a big passion project!

amazing content! It took me a while to get through it all, but I thoroughly enjoyed it, thank you! Resteemed! :D

Ha! Yeah, if I hadn’t dumped in the two documentaries at the beginning, it probably would have been twice as long!

thanks for sharing this, well informed article on the current developments in electronic music, very good example clip, some of which I had watched already earlier. Since you mentioned EBM and Nitzer Ebb, there was a big movement in Belgium in the late 80s that was influenced by EBM (also Front 242) and acid house called "New Beat", which in return was one of the main roots of European techno, trance and 90s Eurodance (which, again, is one of the main precursors of much of mainstream EDM)

Ah yes, I remember Front 242. For my sins, I only really know those headliners!

My history in the nineties was mainly US House, so I missed out on the harder edged sounds going on.

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your tastee :D greetings

IT PUTS THE LOTION ON IT'S SKIN OR ELSE IT GETS THE HOSE AGAIN!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fourfourfun to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.