drum and bass music production - once a week, every week

in #electronicmusic6 years ago

Happy new year! I haven’t really made any big resolutions, since they tend to be forgotten after 2 weeks anyways.

Instead, I’ll continue what I’ve started last year, which has helped me improve my music a lot: weekly uploads. Soundcloud still is the main platform used by undiscovered musicians, so I set a personal goal of uploading a new sketch every sunday. I started simple with very basic beats, because they can be done in a very short time. I didn’t even have time for proper artwork, so I just uploaded a colored square instead.

There are a ton of benefits from doing this consistently. First and foremost, my workflow improved massively. Since I had the weekly deadline in the back of my head all week, I started setting up default templates in my DAW to reduce the number of clicks I do for every project. My sound design skills improved as well, especially once I switched from making hip hop to the music I personally wanted to make (but found quite difficult): dark, textured drum and bass. 

Another benefit that was a bit unexpected: I started gaining followers! I was a bit afraid of the quality of my uploads at first, but at the time I had nothing to lose. Now, with about 300+ followers on Soundcloud I have a bit more pressure to improve my sound, but I’ve noticed this happen automatically, as my skills improve.

A couple djs I look up to messaged me, asking for tracks they could play in their sets. Completely unexpected, but humbling to experience. In November I was even asked by a label to put together an EP for a proper release! I planned to finish it in December, but it’s taking a bit longer than expected.


As soon as the EP is done, I’ll focus my energy on weekly uploads again. Until then, I’ll leave you with a playlist of my past weeklys.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lums to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!