Trial by comics: Ammyt "The soul-eater"

in #elegance6 years ago (edited)

Hey, guys! What’s up? :D

I went crazy in this 5 days after seeing the announcement of the new theme of #trialbycomics contest! So many mythological creatures that I found interesting, but you can only submit up to 3 entries. It's not enough, haha!

After so much searching (I even asked my sister @lovesoldier69 to help me choose the creatures) I decided on two. Actually, there were 3 of them, but I don't know if I had a chance to draw the last one. Well, now I present to you the first one.

Ammyt (other spellings: Ammet, Ammut, Ahemait). She was a goddess of the ancient Egyptian religion. As a funeral deity, she was known as the devourer of death, soul-eater or great of death. She was represented as a crocodile-headed being, the front legs were of a lion and the hind legs of a hippopotamus.

Imagen.jpg

Ammyt remained with Anubis in the "Judgment Hall of Osiris" while Djehuty (God of Wisdom) compared the weight of the heart of the deceased with the Maat's feather (symbol of Truth, Justice and Universal Harmony).

For the soul can be considered "fair of heart", the feather and the heart should weigh the same. If the heart was heavier than the feather, that soul was considered impure and Ammyt devoured it. Therefore the soul couldn't enter the Aaru, a heavenly place where Osiris and other Gods were.

The Weighing of the Heart

In this papyrus, you can see Ani's judgment. And next to Djehuty is Ammyt.

BD_Weighing_of_the_Heart.jpg

Source

Here are some images of the process

Imagen (1).jpg

The symbols are Egyptian hieroglyphics and means "Ammyt". I'm not sure if I used the correct symbols, but according to the Egyptian alphabet that I saw, it must be like this or at least it's pretty close :P

Well, that’s all. If you liked it, you can upvote or resteem this post, so that, Ammyt devours the hearts of others if they're not pure :P

Have a nice day, guys! <3

Previous posts: (。・ω・。)ノ♡

26552895_1801508409971588_1315512688_n.jpg

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

Hi @art-huntress. Knacksteem appreciates your contribution and has rewarded you with an upvote from Knacksteem official account.
Knacksteem rewards individuals with unique talents and skills.
Join this awesome community!.
To learn more about Knacksteem. Read our Blog post
Join the offline community on Discord

Fascinating, I haven't realized there were Egyptian gods who were not humanoid :D
This is a very cool and unique art style

Thank you so much! :D

I didn't know it either, haha. Ammyt is considered a goddess, but in several pages refer to it as a demon or a monster. I think it's because of its appearance.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

That gestural line art technique is very provocative, and well emphasized in all the right places. I'm very intrigued by it.

Thanks!

I didn't think that it would look so flashy while drawing. When using chalk as you can see in the process, I didn't like it at all, but scribbling with a black marker made a big difference :D

Definitely. The intensity and chaos of this linework brings out a sense of terror @sunravelme has felt and relayed already.

This is terrifying and I love it!

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :D

This is very cool! Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for stopping by! <3

This is my favorite entry. ❤️

I spell her name as Ammit, but this Soul eater has a cameo in my novel. Beautiful work.

Thank you! I just noticed that your blue lotus is also from Egyptian mythology. That's cool! :D

Curiosity makes man better.
Your thinking as well as your craft is different and superb.
Continued good with full passion success will be your.

Thank you! I always try to learn new things and share them here in Steemit to those who may be interested.

Wow, this looks awesome, love the style with the wild lines!

Thanks! This is my favorite style for drawing :D

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

I like it so much.
Black and white simple and marvelous.

Thank you! :D

Felicitaciones por tu Post, la verdad nos gusto mucho y por ello te invitamos al Cauce Orinoco mediante https://discord.gg/9A2PXF3, Donde obtendrás muchas ventajas para CRECER y podrás TRANSFORMAR tus Steem a tu MONEDA nacional(Bs) al instante de manera RÁPIDA Y CONFIABLE.


@orinoco


"Trasnformamos tus Steem a Bs de manera Fácil, Rápida y Segura" https://discord.gg/9A2PXF3