"Duality" in progress - A tribute to Albrecht Dürer

in #elegance6 years ago (edited)

This canvas, on which I am working, is entitled "Duality". It means many things to me, this work and its title. First duality, in this case, signifies the existing contradictions between freedom, or concepts of freedom, with that of reality and its truth. It also invokes, or attempts to draw attention to, the extinction of the last African White Rhinoceros, last year and as how this "duality", exists in a cruel and violent way.

Of course also, "Duality" is a tribute to one my favorite painters, Albrecht Dürer.
I chose two of his drawings, probably the better known, from his work. The first, from the year 1512, and the second from 1515.

The wing represents freedom in the "Duality" and the rhino symbolizes the harshness of reality and its truth.

I have already finished the two final sketches, I've used for the canvas, based on the originals.

I have already "transferred" them to the canvas, I chose to use a split background, for the wing (freedom), a gray sky and bright red for the rhino (reality).

I'll post, when I finish it. I hope you enjoy it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @herbertosalvador! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!