embedded dtube videos in your web site

in #embedded7 years ago (edited)

I was trying to embed dtube videos in my web site web site, and driving myself crazy

But with the help of @heimindanger I got it going

The html code is

<video src="https://ipfs.io/ipfs/your_VIDEO_hash_here" poster="https://ipfs.io/ipfs/your_SNAP_hash_here" controls="" class="videoplayer"></video>

 Note: If you want to make it autoplay you need to add  autoplay=""

Replace  your_VIDEO_hash_here  and your_SNAP_hash_here with the hash of your video

I got the VIDEO_hash by viewing the video in Dtube and right clicking the video and clicking COPY VIDEO ADDRESS  (I'm using chrome browser)


I got the SNAP_hash by viewing the blog post created by Dtube in Steemit, and right clicking it, and copying image address


If you want to see the final result, check out my page
https://supplies.homebrew4less.com/blogs/news/riptide-brewing-pump-by-blichmann-engineering

Hope this is helpful to those who are trying to figure this out as well

NOTE: At this time it steemit does not support  <video > tag in our posts here, so this won't work on steemit

Sort:  

I'm trying to figure how to embed dtube itself to steemit

Me too. It would be awesome if it could be automatically embedded if the url was posted into the editor.

Congratulations @homebrew4less! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks man, it is very useful information for me!!!

add autoplay where?

Try before /video closing tag

Hey, so happy I found this tutorial! I have been trying to figure this one out myself (newbie on his 7th day here), because I've been staying the heck away from YouTube for videos.

Thanks for all the work in figuring it out and sharing it here for all of us!

Thanks for this. I wasn't sure there was a way to do it before I found your post.

However, I'm having trouble with adjusting the size. I've embedded 3 videos on my blog but each one is a different size. I've changed the 0x0 in the code with my own dimensions to make all 3 the same, yet they're all different sizes. One is way too big.

Also, on one of my videos it says "video format or MIME type is not supported" even though my video is playable on DTube.

Any suggestions?

I'm actually trying to figure out how to embed dtube thumbnails on facebook

I think that's still impossible.

This helped a lot

Very helpful. Thanks!