You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Model Emergency Preparedness Community

in #emergency7 years ago

I agree- a strong community is what we all need.
I used to live in a small town and when my oldest daughter was injured (head trauma and spent almost a week in a drug-induced coma) the entire town came out for support. The hospital ER was filled with people, the village posted her updates on the community sign near the village hall and people called and stopped at the house non-stop asking if we needed anything. A little different than your article but still, community is a must

Sort:  

@goldendawne

I believe your reply illustrates exactly why a strong community is so important. If, your community came together to care for you, your daughter and your family.......in a time of crisis for the whole community, I want to believe this same community will help each other get through whatever is causing the challenge. Now, my article may have been focused on the community from an emergency preparedness point-of-view, but your story tells of a crisis at the family level, and families are the building blocks of communities.