πŸ‘πŸ˜€πŸ†πŸ™ƒ20 SBD up for grabs in The Weekly EmojiPoetry Challenge!πŸ™ƒπŸ†πŸ˜€πŸ‘

in #emojipoetry β€’ 7 years ago (edited)

You might not get rich off of poetry but with this challenge, you can make some SBD and have fun! Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to do the folowing:

  1. Write a poem in words and translate it into emojis (or vice versa)
  2. Create a post that features both versions of your poem
  3. Tag your post with the hashtag #EmojiPoetry
  4. Put a link to your post below in the comments
  5. Upvote & Resteem this post

Here’s an example in words:

Glad minnow dreams of
Swimming warm oceans one day
Mighty as a whale...

And in emojis:

😁 🐟 😌

πŸŠβ˜€οΈβ˜οΈπŸŒŠ

πŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺ🐳

|

Rhyming is optional and any form or length of poem is fine. Non-English entries are welcome once a good English translation is available. Judging will be put to a community vote. To vote for someone’s entry, reply to their comment with an emoji (right below). You can vote on as many entries as you like (including your own) but you can’t vote on any entry more than once. You'll have until this Saturday at midnight (Atlantic Standard Time) to vote and winners will be announced on Sunday.

First prize wins 10 SBD, second prize wins 6 SBD and third prize wins 4 SBD outright HOWEVER all SBD rewards from THIS post will be split among contestants (30% to 1st place, 20% to 2nd place, 10% to third place and the remaining 40% will be split evenly among all contestants). That could be really awesome or really underwhelming depending on how many people are interested so remember to Upvote, Resteem and spread the word!

STEEM ON!!!

Sort: Β 

Excellent idea - it was a lot harder than I expected it to be, but I've risen to the challenge and created an emoji-poem. Enjoy 😁

Loved it!! πŸ˜ƒ Don't forget to resteem this post to complete your entry!

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

In principle, I'm not against resteeming, however, I don't like the way that it makes it hard to determine which are my posts and which are other peoples' on my "blog" page.

I generally tend to stay away from contests that stipulate that you must resteem for this reason, but I liked your idea so I thought that I would give it a go.

Creating a post and linking back to this original post has the same effect as resteeming in terms of exposure to my followers - and it allows me to keep my own brand / content on my blog page =)

I definitely understand where you’re coming from and when the contest gets a little more traction, I’ll remove the resteem requirement.

Here you go, this looked like fun.... and it was!!!!!
https://steemit.com/poetry/@rocinante/wondering-emoji-poem-emojipoetry

Awesome, you're the first contestant to enter! And here's your first vote: πŸ‘

Might seem like a really stupid question, but where do you find the emojis if working from a desktop?

No, it's a good question and I'm glad someone asked it early seeing as I forgot to include a link. This is the site I use: http://getemoji.com/

Translating it into emojis was indeed challenging. πŸ˜…

https://steemit.com/poetry/@mikletimes/when-nothing-feels-real-anymore

You did great! Here's your first vote: πŸ‘

πŸ‘πŸ»

Thanks and thanks for entering! Here's your first vote: πŸ‘

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Thanks and thanks for the vote :) πŸ‘ i vote for myself aswell. makes me kinda feel like donald trump. yey

Such an awesome idea! When is the deadline?

Thanks sumsum! You have until this week Saturday at midnight (Atlantic Standard Time) to vote or enter 😁 But I'll be doing this every week.

This is awesome!! Thank you @elementm :) I will be participating shortly <3

Wonderful! πŸ˜ƒThanks!

This looked like it would be "easy" at first, then I started and it suddenly became a lot harder than I expected. Part of not being a native emoji speaker I guess... Thanks for the challenge!

https://steemit.com/emojipoetry/@flemingfarm/emoji-poetry-challenge-morning

You'll pick it up as a second language in no time! Here's your first vote: πŸ‘

Sounds fun! Nice idea. Should be interesting

Cool, you should enter!

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

This is great! Guys join this! I'm planning to.

@grazz @dreamiely @beng05 @luvabi @jeanelleybee @haneun

The more the merrier! 😁😁😁

Yes. I will share your steemgig

Cool! :)

Thanks! Don't forget to enter πŸ˜€!

How do I use the emojis :o ?

You can copy and paste them into your post from http://getemoji.com/ or a similar site πŸ™‚

OOOOh thanks a lot! Now Imma release the EMOJI POWER!

YEAH!!πŸ™Œ!

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Hi there, if you are to post your entry in Steemit you may have to use emojis accepted by Markdown: Click here. Otherwise if you use emojis from your phone, not everyone can see it (viewable emjis depends on what device, browser, OS, and versions the readers are using).