Mastering the Mind means to stop accepting the Mind as your Master

in #empowerment6 years ago

I figured shit out. I'm not all-knowing, there's so much I still want to learn but I can fairly say that I realized what generally works and what doesn't. And yeah, it took me a while.

One of the biggest mistakes I have made and I still see humanity making as a whole is the attempt to make sense out of life through the use of our minds only. I tried it long enough to realize that the mind working with a purely rational analysis is not the appropriate tool to determine truth. 

Truth is absolute. 

It's oneness. 

Unshakable. 

No doubts.

The mind generally works in dualities. Pros and cons. Good and bad. Positive and negative. In a sense it's a paint brush that has two brushes attached to it. One of them is black and the other one white. Try to paint a clear one-colored picture. 

For the longest time I tried to discover what is true with rational analysis. At least I can safely say what didn't work and the experience of it helped me to relate with all of the people who are still stick in their heads. 

What is true for you needs to be experienced. The experience of oneness cannot be explained to be understood. It must be felt to be grasped. One key to finding out what truth is, is full presence. Focus on what is. Then you get a chance of realizing truth. More than that: Realizing aliveness! Some of us have never experienced true aliveness! True joy and peace and harmony! You'll not just realize truth but you'll realize what really matters and what you really want. 

Being stuck in your head means you are stuck in time. Memories of the past and scenarios of the future. Since human beings generally work with what today's psychology terms "negativity bias", the thoughts tend to be overwhelmingly negative. It's reflected well in the media's tendency to paint a dark picture. 

"Paint a dark picture". Yes, it was intentional. Which leads me back to the paint brush analogy. Once you came to the conclusion that truth cannot be rationalized, but can only be experienced, the mind can be put to useful practice. You always have the choice to either only use the black brush or the white brush, or, in other words, to paint your personal picture black or white. Dark or light. Bad or good. What do you prefer? And don't expect to get a clear response after a rational analysis ;)

In my work as Empowerment Coach I help people to let go of what doesn't work and to apply what works. First step: Stop accepting the Mind as your Master.