You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Hive Engagement League πŸ†

in #enagement β€’ last year

Hrmmm...OK. That sounds like some weird browser issue. I have no problems logging in via the Hive Keychain Android app, and I also just tried on my computer via Vivaldi with no issues either. It might be some peculiarity of Brave. Do you use any extensions? 😁 πŸ™ πŸ’š ✨ πŸ€™

Sort: Β 

Only Hive Keychain and Metamask. I doubt it's the Metamask interfering, plenty of Leo people must have it, right? I suppose if I get desperate enough I could try using FireFox, but I like to separate different things between different browsers. Makes it easier to remember what I'm supposed to be doing!

Hrmmm...OK. Yes, it's likely not MetaMask. I'd also suggest Vivaldi as a browser. It's the most customisable browser in the world, it's fast, and quite secure. It's been my default browser for years now, and I use both the release and the snapshot versions. 😁 πŸ™ πŸ’š ✨ πŸ€™

Thanks for the suggestion! I'd of course prefer that the leo people fixed their site, but until then another solution is needed. (Oh, that's another thing I hope a website/wiki would mention in the presentation of various front-ends: does the front-end allow you access to ALL of Hive, or only show you stuff posted through their site? It was quite confusing to me when I couldn't find my own posts done through ecency when trying out leo, while I could see people's leo posts both on ecency and peakd. I hope you are taking notes ;) )

But... made by one of the Opera guys... not exactly the best endorsement to my mind, since that browser just kept promising and never delivering. I'll give Vivaldi a try though, it's downloading while I type. And it does run Chrome extensions, so at least I won't have to research how reliable some other extension store is. Not that I exactly trust Google, but... enough people use them that even I would hear if there was something extra shady happening 😹 Like the horror story when a firefox extension that a lot of people used was sold, and the new owner changed the code to steal passwords or whatever it was. And people had allowed the extension to auto-update. Something I never allow for anything, because updates often happen at 3am, and bog down my internet when I most need it. Plus, I rather wait a couple of days, read comments to hear if any disastrous bugs were introduced, before I update anything I need/want to use daily. Learned that the hard way πŸ˜“

And switching browsers is a good opportunity for me to get rid of some of all those open tabs with stuff I've been meaning to read later, because copying and pasting all of them would be too much work :P

I'll be back to tell you my thoughts of this "new" browser :)

Absolutely @treefrognada, you're most welcome! I hope that you find it useful. Yes, it's odd how various websites work better in one browser or other. It's kind of annoying, but I always find ways to get things to work.

I very much understand your desire and confusion around what is visible on any particular front-end. That's partly why I use Ecency and PeakD for most things I do on Hive, with a few others for more specialized needs. I mentally take note of everything...hehe.

I tries Opera years ago, and I can say that Vivaldi is far, far, far better. I've been using it for years, since I ditched Chrome and Firefox, and I love it! My only gripe is that not all the code is open source. Yes, Chrome extensions work great. I haven't had any problems yet.

Yes, I don't trust Google (or any big tech) at all, so I avoid them if at all possible, or I use them in very specific ways. That extension horror story does sound pretty horrific indeed! Ugh! That's a good practice, not allowing them to auto-update and not upgrading for a few days.

Hahaha...I usually have sooooo many tabs open too, and for similar reasons! Vivaldi allows you to sync tabs and tab groups between devices and individual Vivaldi installations, too, which is helpful.

I look forward to hearing what you think. You can mold Vivaldi to your liking (there are so many settings!), so I'm very curious what your experience will be. 😁 πŸ™ πŸ’š ✨ πŸ€™