Retirement

in #encounters6 years ago (edited)

womanolder.jpg

Bewildered and puzzled by wasted hours
Yesterday and tomorrow the same
And wasn’t I anxious for quiet and rest?
To seek pleasure in nothing but gain

Past encounters with upstarts and bosses as well
And they were a difficult kind
Toxic yet seemingly trivial brawls
Now only alive in my mind

When battles were won and my foes stepped down
It brought life and living as one
Concerns of the day brought home to him
My defenses no longer alone

If each of us knew when our age would denote
That the time of real living is beat
We would reach back and thank them for all of their cares
But no thank you we will not retreat!

Sort:  

I like these lines of this poem:

Toxic yet seemingly trivial brawls
Now only alive in my mind

pleasure in nothing but gain - on board with that idea
nice poem