You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Securely Storing Data Backups on the STEEM Blockchain

in #encryption6 years ago

Nothing but economic incentives. If I, for example, started posting backups of my files constantly, would I love followers? Would people remove me from their voting bots? For sure. I could also do a decline payout post, which would be fine, but even then, those who automatically vote for me would lose voting strength without any curation rewards. Eventually, I'd lose them in that scenario as well.

That's what I love so much about the STEEM blockchain. There are financial incentives to be a good actor. Instead of just posting this file with a decline payout and no explanation, I turned into an educational piece to help others.

Ideally, spammy behavior not only doesn't get rewarded, but also gets flagged. The problem we have there is many don't want to waste their voting strength to downvote because there's not immediate financial incentive to do so (other than protecting the perception of integrity and value of the whole system).

Sort:  

well, you do not need to do it on your main account. you could set up a new account and just use that to post your invoices. That way you do not really "rape" the reward pool and there are no votes to lose. But you are being provided with an eternal free storage method. nobody would notice it, there would be no followers hence also none to lose

This is a solution that could work for a while of course but if everyone and their dog started saving every paper on the blockchain on dummy accounts then this would potentially change the whole purpose of the chain (personally I think its to late for that but it might have been a possibility)

What if? can be a cool question sometimes