U.S. users are leaving Facebook by the millions

in #enemedia5 years ago



Too Big to Fail?
............................................................................................................................................................................

I recall having a 'discussion' (translation...I got cussed at by a snowflake) on Steemit a while back when I remarked that FaceBook was alienating it's user base and that it would come back to bite them in the Ass.

The snowflake contended that would never happen because SHUT UP!

  • All the bad press about Facebook might be catching up to the company. New numbers from Edison Research show an an estimated 15 million fewer users in the United States compared to 2017. The biggest drop is in the very desirable 12- to 34-year-old group. Marketplace Tech got a first look at Edison's latest social media research. It revealed almost 80 percent of people in the U.S. are posting, tweeting or snapping, but fewer are going to Facebook.
Sort:  

I took it off my phone 3 years ago. I was talking to someone at an outside party about Ibanez RG guitars. My phone was in my pocket. And I didn't even have Facebook open. The next day when I opened Facebook on my laptop, there was an advert for Ibanez RG guitars!

I only use it now for a Veterans group to which I belong.

A lot of the younger generation has never been into facebook anyway. However, they are into things like snapchat and instagram (owned by facebook). Personally, I still use facebook a lot to keep in touch with friends and family because virtually everyone I know (except for my kids) has an account. It's not exactly the kind of communication that is likely to be censored though.

You have to look at any centrally controlled platform as a platform that could be censored in the future even if it isn't now. Always backup your own data. I feel bad for the idiots who upload their videos to youtube, don't bother to keep their own backups and then have their account deleted because of some random bullshit reason.

I have been thinking to do the same for so many days now, it's just time wasting and full of hate and unnecessary stuff. It's high time they start sharing their revenues with the users and stop stealing data, people may continue using it

good luck with that.

Thank you so much :D

FacebookUsage7.jpg

Clearly folks are grasping that censorship is actually an existential threat to their survival, and groups most concerned are effecting solutions. The older someone is, the less concern such threats present.

I wonder if Instagram, Youtube, etc., are experiencing similar trends? My guess would be yes, but I have no data.

Thanks!

Yup...I think that they are.
I've heard that UToob is loosing users...
no idear about Instagram or any of the others.

Dtube is being handed a golden opportunity. They better step up. You hear me @heimindanger?

Facebook is wack

Posted using Partiko Android