You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Social Media: In the End, It's All About Interaction and Engagement

in #engagement5 years ago

I definitely see the value-to-noise ratio improving. Mostly, it feels like a big storm is blowing through... and the value is stickier than the noise. Which makes sense, given that the "quick buck merchants" would leave as soon as their supply starts to dry up.

I reach the point of "socializing fatigue," too (I'm an INFJ) fairly easily, but for me it's very noise-specific. I don't wear out interacting with interesting people about new things I can learn, or with those who have become friends... A recent post of mine ended up with 65 comments; I can't remember the last time that happened, but I see it as positive, even if the rewards were pretty thin.

Can this community come back? Well, I guess my first question points back to yours: "Have we LEARNED anything?"

I'd like to think the maybe 20-25K "sincerely active" accounts that remain would have the ability to find a place of stability, and then each go out and suggest to maybe two or three real people that this is a cool community with some unique features... true grassroots marketing and we slowly rebuild with actual human beings.

But hey, I'm an idealist...

Sort:  

That is a good way to look at it; if every active user on here could just bring in a couple of new ones. That is all me need to get the snowball rolling down the hill again.

Well, "grassroots" tends to be the most successful approach to creating sustainability. Sure, you can attract millions with huge advertising blasts... but what good is that if 99% of them end up inactive within three months? Better to just hand recruit by referral, directly... helps the retention rate.

Yes agree grassroots is better. But do we have time given all the competition coming our way.