You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues πŸ† - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! 🎁

in #engagement β€’ 6 years ago

Okay. So, I'm not the only one. I figured I couldn't be, but it's always nice to hear.

I didn't go to a church activity on Saturday because of that. It's referred to as a harvest party, but the kids and many adults still get into costume, and then there's a trunk 'o' treat afterwards. Not interested in ruining anyone's fun, nor do I want to passively endorse it, so I stayed home, even though my youngest, his wife and their 16-month-old went.

However, my wife enjoys handing out candy, so if she doesn't have to work, she'll man the door. Again, I'm not happy about it, but there's some battles you fight, and others you live with.

re: other side

Well, see, that's just it. People may not be celebrating Halloween for any of that, but it's perpetuated in a more non-threatening way, I guess, which waters it down, and then teaches kids they can get free candy once a year.

Here I am on my soapbox. Thanks @bashadow! :)