Engineer or Dam builder Needed

in #engineering7 years ago (edited)

So I have been sitting pondering this for way too long. It is the first major step in setting up my homestead farm. Water, all of my dreams rely on water. Having it would make me the richest of men, being able to provide my family with the food I have grown. Able to keep animals knowing they can always get a drink not to mention somewhere for the kids to cool off and play. So I'm calling out to all engineers or dam builder's I need help, I need free advice please. (I have also made a 2 minute YouTube video so you can see the whole lot)
FB_IMG_1504599166054.jpg
So here are my problems: I have a fairly decent size dam as pictured above, this is full after rain. About 4 years ago there was a flood which burst the dam wall. To fix it the previous owner used decomposing granite to create a new back wall, now whenever we get some rain it leaks straight out generally takes about 2 months. With the dam wall bursting it created a huge washout that goes through the middle of the property. This is where the dam water leaks to. I probably need to fix this first, I just have no idea about this one I think I may have to keep saving and get heavy equipment in and scrape the bottom of the dam and put it over the wall.
washout.jpg
Picture above is the washout. I have also made a 2 minute YouTube video so you can see the whole lot. What I'm wanting to do is maybe turn washout into another dam. But I need to do it cheaply and preferably myself. I had maybe thought of sand bagging the back of the washout (zone 3 )to create a wall. I can get the bags for about twenty cents each and fill them with dirt and start stacking them one meter wide by about two meter high. As I get close to the top I was thinking I could use about 15 to 20 pvc pipes as over flow. Run the pipes back to ground level into where the over flow keeps going through state land, as to not make it any worse.


Thanks for reading.

Please ReSteem for me this would help resolve my issue quicker as I may wait a while for help and I want to act on this now before the summer rains.

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond Please consider upvoting this comment as this project is supported only by your upvotes!

one boring life trying to find money more then adventure. stop it hell live your life coz its aren't getting you back. UPVOTE this comment and take challenges on my page.

Didn't read did you ? I asked for advice on dam building.
Thanks for your comment though, Your awesome.
May the day bring much happiness to you.