DRAWING | How does Siddhartha Gautama laugh?

in #english6 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemitlings!


Recently, since the beginning of 2017, after many years of abstinence due to demotivation, I played with the drawing again. Especially drawing of human figure and characters. Which has always fascinated me as an amateur of comics and otaku since adolescence.

Thing I began to do deliberately in the manner of Art Therapy and Psycomagic, as I said in the previous post about my recent personal history, to leave a few months of depression. Process in which I reviewed my priorities in life, how to use underutilized and abandoned skills, as well as the decision to look for forms of expression on the Internet that were economically sustainable. What, after considering the possibility of starting a Youtube Channel and other more mechanical and infamous options, finally brought me to start at Steemit.

Among the drawings that I have been doing, such as metaphorical comic characters, face drawings and meme-like compositions, I bring you this first freehand pencil drawing experiment that really moved me. With the collaboration of my friend of High School and integral artist Manuela Márquez, who immediately understood the meaning of the image. Using Adobe Photoshop and her talent for painting, she has visually and conceptually enhanced the original sketch in a wonderful way. When she asked me "How would you like the drawing to be colored?" My answer was "faceted, in the Fauvist way", using a very precise term for the painters and studiers of the eurocentric history of the visual arts. And her response was this effective visual result, as well as a symbolic detail that I will ask to you who that’s reading me, at the end of the text.


José Guaglianone y Manuela Márquez: Buddha laughs as a carajito, 2017-2018. Pencil and digital coloring.
Author Rights (Copyleft) license by Safe Creative
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0


The image of the spiritual master of the north of India, as a symbol, liberated by the magic of the drawing of all formality and solemnity. Added to the exaltation of the original innocence of childhood (in Venezuela and other Latin-Caribbean countries we say in a colloquial way carajitas and carajitos to the girls and boys, the children, the childhood) prior to the indoctrinations of the family, the traumas and the Society, as a potential emancipator in these times of crisis, helped me raise my spirits and responsibility towards my own future. The joy that caused me to see how I managed to draw a face with such a realistic and spontaneous facial expression, as well as the need to add attributes and make it a Buddha, helped me to rediscover myself and a spiritual teaching for the journey: the serenity of Buddha and the vitality of the inner child, in balance.

José Guaglianone: Buddha laughs as a carajito, 2017. Sketch in pencil on recycled paper.
Author Rights (Copyleft) license by Safe Creative
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0

Laugh with the vitality and innocence of childhood but with the maturity and serenity of Buddha!
Namaste, Aho and Ashe


I leave you the website and the Facebook Page as an artist of Manuela Márquez:

http://chi-bel.wixsite.com/chibel
https://www.facebook.com/MariaManuelaMM/


Now, lets see who dares to respond in the comments the following question:

What was that symbolic detail that my friend added in her colorization and that I thought was the cherry on the cake?

Sort:  

How important it is to heal, healing is not necessarily linked to pain, the body is constantly receiving the good and the bad. Therefore the body needs to heal, let go, let everything flow (good and bad). In this process of healing, we must practice that which gives us the possibility of loving ourselves and seeing ourselves as beings that we need to meet with the love of play, of life that is in the smile of childhood, that although societies have taken charge of take it from us, she always calls us from the inside. Childhood allows us to look at new horizons, allows the body to flow like water that is. Childhood is that playful body that encourages us to feel life with love. Namaste!

@lamorrocoya Thank you for your thoughtful words. I think you give in the heart of the matter about this story. Regards!

Interesting Graphic Proposal ... It is very valuable that everything we do allows us to heal wounds that must be worked .... Congratulations .....

@katrina71 Yeah Anny! that's just the point. Thanks for your comment

Congratulations @jo-celeogua! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jo-celeogua! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!