What helps me to improve my English

in #english6 years ago

20180405_HH5913_0001.png
Hello everyone!
I have been learning English since I was 12 years old and I still have a long way in front of me. I hope one day I will speak perfectly as a native English speaker. But that won’t happen over night…

I graduated from an institution dedicated to teach English and there I met good teachers who helped me a lot. I would like to share with you some tips which get me to the position where I am now.

Let’s start!

• LIKE THE LANGUAGE
No one likes to learn about things which they don’t find interesting. You need to fall in love with the language if you want to learn it, because then you have no chance to be good in it. I really fell in love with English, I like how it sounds, I like the words and I like the fact that almost everyone knows it.

• DON’T BE AFRAID TO MAKE MISTAKES
Someone once told me: learning English is like learning how to speak when you’re a child. People know that you aren’t perfect in it and they expect you to do mistakes, sometimes they correct you and sometimes don’t. Don’t be afraid to talk, don’t be afraid to write, no one’s perfect.

• PRACTICE
Learning a new language is a long process and you won’t be great over night. You need to use the language as often as possible. PRACTICE MAKES PERFECT. There are any ways how you can do it:

• WATCH MOVIES OR SERIES
If you have any favorite movie or series which you perfectly in your mother language, try to watch it in English.

Watch a movie in English with your language subtitles.

Watch a movie in English with English subtitles (if you’re already good in English but you want to practice it or learn new words).

• LISTEN TO ENGLISH SONGS AND SEARCH THEIR LYRICS
This helps a lot!
Sometimes when I’m listening to music, there are some words or phrases which I don’t know, so I search for the lyrics of the song.

Thanks to music I learned so many things.

• READ MAGAZINES, ARTICLES OR BOOKS
Reading is really important because you can always find tons of new words. Try some easy ones for the start, about your favorite celebrities or book reviews.

OK, these are some tips to improve your studying.
I have some other tips to share with you but I will write a second part!
Don’t forget to vote up this post and comment.
Have fun! <3.

Sort:  

Congratulations @majodaily! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!