Introducing Myself - Word-of-the-day

in #english6 years ago

I love English and it’s general use as a means of communicating between consenting adults and our grown-up children.
English use between parents and children has become a challenge of meaning Vs texting and electronic communication where we just have to guess a meaning.
So texting is (we agree), here to stay and we just have to live with it. Texting is really stripping language to the barest essentials necessary for comprehension. This is done by using initial letters to outline approximate phrases such as IMHO (in my humble opinion) and lol (laugh out loud).
As parents our interest is in the changing use and spelling of words and whether in fact simplified forms in electronic language should suffice for general English.
So to introduce myself, I’m obviously an old or older mature parent and teacher, leader of my family and grown-up children and affectionately interested in the use of English across generations.
I live in the western world, am permanently on holiday and have a great love for all things new and interesting to learn about.
I’m hoping to improve my understanding and usage of English words (and texts) in the modern world.
Forgive me if my posts are unnecessarily long winded, obtuse or downright ugly. I apologise well in advance and welcome your generous comments and contribution.
I hope you’ll find our joint exploration of the English language and it’s interesting choice of words and it’s usage illuminating and fruitful. God bless you all.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit

Thank you for the warm Welcome

Welcome!! Looking forward to your posts!

Hello
Nice to be in here

Warm greetings and love, welcome to the platform :)

We have made some Discord groups or sub-communities which may help you grow faster, click here for further details :)

hello @word-of-the-day and welcome to steemit!

this is a great place with a great community .. glad to have you.
@ricmark

Hello nice to meet you

Your opening line had me smiling. :) Than you.

"...it’s general use as a means of communicating between consenting ..." Humm....I guess that can be said about English and any other human language the parties involved (sender and receiver) have to be willing to participate in the act of communicating in the given language.

Have a lovely rest of the month.