DLEASE Dapp: Loan Out Your HP

in #engrave4 years ago (edited)

As I further explore deeper into the world of Blockchains, I get to play with new toys. This is the latest DAPP that has peaked my interest.

Links: Staying Active | Riders on the Hive | Kiwibloke PeakD | Strava | Twitter (hivetips)

From the above image you can see I've accepted/sponsered? 3 Lease requests 2x 49HP 1x 1639.98HP over 2 different expiration times where the HP then gets returned at the end of that period. From these I recieve 0.813HP per day (not sure what that 0.042 means) but as these are my initial leases it will eventually become apparent.

Going through the market to see who wants how much HP for how long you is interesting, whether they are gamers or curators (it's what I assuming they are) but as of yesterday, there was 75 requests. I find that amazing but picking 2 small ones and a small to medium lease is a good way to try out this Dapp.

Thoughts

There has to be a reason why people request for temporary HP loan, which I doubt I will ever do. When I pass on my HP I am assuming they are making some sort of gain as well else why would they do it! As for me I see it as the ultimate way to make HIVE with as little interaction as possible on my part (apart from the occassional checking)

Is this a more effecient way to earn HIVE ? I suppose it depends on why you are on HIVE in the first place. Speaking for myself I came here because of the social side of the blockchain, and I've come to know some great creators. Whether I "make" HIVE isn't important, there are far better ways to invest but that doesn't stop me from dabbling into a bit of fun.

Does tying up my HP for a long period of time bother me ? not really


Sources: -

  • with every post comes experience, as we all strive to do better.
  • curate/up vote, let's encourage and inspire each other.
  • as always, thank you for viewing my post.

dblog.org


Originally posted on Staying Active Body and Mind. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

Sort:  

There has to be a reason why people request for temporary HP loan, which I doubt I will ever do.

When I first joined Steem I was leasing delegation. Some of my mentors thought I was crazy for not self voting with it (back then it wasn't a 50/50 split). I was doing it for several reasons.

I wanted to be able to award higher curation rewards to those I was wanting to build a community with.

I wanted to show others that I believed in the philosophical reward system that the chain makes possible.

Investing to reward others is what makes this system so unique and strong. I have made connections from that time that I'm sure was made possible because of the intangibles to walking the talk.

Unlike Reddit where you can reward people out of pocket for some silver or gold award that benefits no one but Reddits bottom line, investing in ones power here not only benefits those you value, but rewards you as well.

It has always been in the back of my mind HP was really wasted (for me), unless I upvoted constantly and that really can be a hassle. Curators do a great job here, which I stopped supporting during the steem/hive "lets wait and see what happens" period.

Totally agree with you, investing to reward others makes it all worthwhile.

That's a very nice idea.

What I would like to see is being able to lend out fractions of HP. This would make the function more inclusive for newer members like me.

Actually there are communities that do just that, for example the #exhaust community. Check out this "State of Exhaust" post, https://tinyurl.com/y8km7nrl. If you go to the bottom of the page you can delegate a small amount. This is where I started my 1st delegation investment, at 25HPs. I cannot remember what the weekly return value was (pretty small) but it didn't matter. I was hooked. This guy did all the curating I just sat back and watched my HIVE grow. Didn't take long before I went to 500HP. Now that HIVE seems to have settled down it's time I got back into supporting exhaust.

These are just some examples I started out with.

You can also use the https://hive.vote/ curation trails, it's another concept you could look into.

I'll look into them now, many thanks :)

hm so i thought i'd give it a try and delegate 50 hive power to them.

Very new to the platform so unsure about how this works. Are you aware of any tutorial about delegations??