My entry for the The ASEAN Hive Community #Engrish Challenge

in #engrish3 years ago

This was spotted at a restaurant downtown in Chiang Mai a few months ago before they shut everything down. It's funny to me because they almost got it right but a bit of the ol' Engrish snuck in there anyway :)


200934929_245396746932176_1530227376001507510_n.jpg

This is actually quite a popular place right on the water and nobody named John actually works there or owns it.... or at least that is what the staff told me. Food was rubbish too but at least the beers were cheap and really cold!

Sort:  

I is impress. Those is some really powderful England spoken.

I personally think they should've just gone ahead and said it, well too late for that now, John already has good food and drinks. 6-minute lookers will be forced to walk the plank I guess.

They love the expression "5 minute" for anything here, it doesn't matter what is for sale. I don't know how that became a thing but it is said all the time.

BTW sorry for forgetting to post this in the main section, good eye on your part and thanks for the cross-post. IN future contests I will not make that mistake... hopefully.

Lol, I know this place. That sign's mistakes have been pointed out to the owners many times but I think it actually serves a purpose better with the mistake because people take photos of it constantly. I think that the "Engrish" on it actually encourages more people to visit than would if it was done correctly.

it actually encourages more people to visit than would if it was done correctly.

You are correct about this: The whole reason I went into the place at all was actually because of that sign. I stayed longer than 5 minute too

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ