#8 - I started watching Black Mirror

Hello, my dear readers, this is Rick again. In these days I have not published anything due to the problems of internet and light that we suffer here in my city. But these articles are not about complaining and venting, but about what's really cool indeed: Black Mirror. This series has an interesting story, because it comes from Charlie Brooker, a man who is obsessed with criticizing the way technology is consuming us all. And how do you expose that in a television series? Well, with crazy messages, references to their own episodes, shocking endings and script twists, post-apocalyptic subplays, come on, the usual.

BM-1.jpg

Anyway, my beginnings with Black Mirror were cooler and more unexpected than I thought. I knew it was interesting and crazy, but I was underestimating what it could do to me, and I came across a work that surprised me quite a bit. The first episode, for those of you who don't know her, is called The National Anthem, and is about how the English Prime Minister, named Michael Callow, must perform a despicable act to prevent Princess Susanna (who has been kidnapped) from being executed. What act is this? Having sex with a pig. Yes, that's what the first episode of Black Mirror is all about: Like the American Horror Story series, it has several stories that at first seem to be unrelated to each other. The difference is that AHS does it seasonally, while Black Mirror does it episode by episode.

BM-3.jpg

This is Susanna, the princess. After watching The National Anthem, I saw all the other chapters of the first two seasons in just 3 days (yes, I know you can watch them in one day, but I can't stand series marathons like before). The episode that most marked me, and by far, was 2x02: White Bear. I won't say anything, I want those who see it for me to know what it is.

BM-2.jpg

And she is the main character of White Bear. Well, the fact is that I will continue to watch the series, I still have two seasons left to go to the day. I will comment, when I have finished seeing it, with my opinion of the issues it deals with.

That's all for today! I hope to be able to bring you another commentary on a series I recommend or a video game I liked. If you have an opinion about this series or would like to recommend one, please tell me your opinion in the comments, I will be happy to answer you. Goodbye!

Source of the images:

https://tvshows.alphacoders.com/tv_shows/view/644/Black-Mirror
https://wall.alphacoders.com/big.php?i=807046&lang=Spanish

Sort:  

Hey @rickraven2000, I am going through Black Mirror myself and I'm loving it. I have season 4 left and I was going to do an episode by episode once I was done, but you beat me to it :) I like your comparison to American Horror Story, I think its quite apt. I liken it to Twilight Zone myself. I will be checking in to see what else your write about concerning BM.

Hey, man, thanks for commenting. Yes, the truth is that between BM and AHS I have found more than one curious similarity. Hey, this is a free "country", so if you want to comment of each episode in your posts, go ahead, I'll be happy to read them myself and support you, as it's something I'm very hesitant to do anyway. Will you follow my comments on this series? Perfect. Greetings!