Janet Jackson Praises 'Incredible Father ' Joe Jackson Amid His Reported Terminal Cancer Battle

in #entertainment6 years ago

Janet Jackson had nothing but appreciation for her father, Joe Jackson, on Friday.

The vocalist, 52, took the stage at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, California, where she was honored at the 2018 Radio Disney Music Awards with the Impact Award (which has now been relabelled the Janet Jackson Award).
janet5.jpg
Throughout her speech, Janet mentioned Joe's influence on her job. Her words came as information damaged that Joe-- the songs supervisor and dad of 11, including the late Michael Jackson-- has supposedly been hospitalized with incurable cancer.

" It's stunning, it's humbling to be recognized as someone that has actually had a positive effect, yet if I have been privileged enough to impact others it is just since I, myself, have been considerably affected by positive individuals in my life," Janet claimed in her speech.

" My mommy nourished me with one of the most elegant love you can possibly imagine, my papa, my unbelievable dad, drove me to be the most effective that I can," she included. "My siblings set an incredibly high criterion for creative excellence ... Sometimes, having an influence can be as simple as a smile, a handshake, or a hug."

The 89-year-old Jackson family patriarch has actually been fighting the health problem "for some time," TMZ reported on Friday, however is "at the end stages" as well as the "cancer could not be dealt with."

Member of the family, consisting of Joe's 88-year-old other half Katherine Jackson, have been at his bedside, sources told TMZ. Jackson's grandchildren and also children have also made visits.

On Wednesday, son Jermaine showed to the Daily Mail, "He's extremely, really sickly, he doesn't have long. The family members should be by his bedside-- that's our only intention in his last days."

Reps for Jackson, as well as various Jackson family members, did not quickly return PEOPLE's ask for comment.

On the other hand, Janet's honor at the Radio Disney Music Awards was presented to her by That's So Raven celebrity Raven-Symoné.

" You are the instance of art, you are the Goddess of efficiency," Symoné, 32, claimed in her intro. "You have never let us down ... Thank you, Queen!"

Asked on the red carpet what it means to present Janet with the honor, Symoné said that she was "indebted" to the "Miss You Much" songstress:

" Listen, there are a handful of people in this industry that have begun as young as myself, or her, and that have actually lasted that lengthy with a profession that you could be pleased of with an occupation that is constantly pressing amusement to the following level," Symoné claimed of Janet. And that is why I am indebted to her, due to the fact that there are not a great deal of duty models for people like me, as well as she is one of them."

" Listen, there are a handful of individuals in this sector that have actually begun as young as myself, or her, and also that have actually lasted that lengthy with a career that you could be honored of with a profession that is constantly pushing enjoyment to the next level," Symoné said of Janet. And also that is why I am indebted to her, due to the fact that there are not a lot of function models for individuals like me, and also she is one of them."